Syp’s new tablet


With my original iPad mini starting to creak and groan from age (a shocking four years old!), I have increasingly given thought to upgrading to a newer tablet. The mini, which was a Christmas gift from my father-in-law back in 2012, has served me well in a variety of capacities — being a great distraction while I used my exercise bike, going on trips with me, entertaining my children, etc. But its 16 GB memory, fuzzy screen resolution (no retina here), and general slowness spoke to a limited future.

So I socked away some money and after doing some research, found out that Apple sells refurbished products for less cost than brand-new ones. I’m all on board with refurbished stuff, especially considering that Apple throws in a new battery, runs a bunch of tests, and gives a one-year warranty on it.

Thus I was able to snag the 2015 model iPad mini 4 (64 GB) for around $380. I am a fan of the smaller screen size on the mini; full-sized tablets feel too big to me, and the mini’s size (which is about 2.5 times as big as my iPhone’s screen) is a good fit. I also purchased a nice-looking cover that makes the tablet look like it’s a slim leather-bound book.

It’s definitely a nice upgrade, with a much sharper screen, less weight, better performance, and more memory. I’m hoping that with some more mobile MMOs coming out over the next year (including this week’s AdventureQuest 3D), I’ll be able to put it through its paces. But it does feel a tiny bit extravagant to get, because there’s always overlap with other devices (phone, computer, Kindle) and I don’t like upgrading if there’s still use I can get out of older machines.

I know I will get use out of it, especially to help out more with work. I’m hoping to get a keyboard and dock for Christmas so that I can use it to do more writing.

I am repurposing my original iPad mini to be for my kids. There’s a few apps, such as a nature exploration one, a Bible reading one, and a spelling one, that they greatly enjoy. And having Netflix on it makes for an option if I want to set up a TV session in some other room of the house.

Leave a Reply

