World of Warcraft: Deathlord Syp (and Burpface)

fish1

My kids absolutely love the abomination that fights alongside of my Death Knight, probably because one day I told them that his name was (as the name generator spawned) “Burpface.” Burpface and Syp, against the world. It’s the stuff of legends.

I’ve settled into a comfortable routine with World of Warcraft while keeping my focus mostly on my main (DK). If I don’t have a lot of time during a day, I do try to log in for 20-30 minutes to do my emissary world quests. I’m getting better about blasting through those, sorting out which ones might take too long or be in a more difficult spot. I know rep is important, but I’m always excited to open up the big treasure chest at the end of these and cross my finger for something good. No legendaries yet, of course, but I have gotten a lot of good purples. Syppy is now iLevel 836 and starting to get to the point where pushing up past that means that I’ll need to run raids or mythics.

Raids are doable with the raid finder, but mythics are more difficult to get a foot in the door. My guild, while wonderful and welcoming, is still mostly struggling to get leveled and geared up to the mythic level, so we haven’t run anything together yet (plus, we’re like one tank, 5,000 DPS, and no healers, so that’s an issue). And I guess WoW doesn’t use the LFG tool for mythics? That stinks, it really does. I don’t like games taking away useful grouping tools.

If I have more time, then I pour over the rewards for the other world quests to see if there are any huge gold bounties (I found one the other day that paid out 648 gold for running a dungeon, so yes please on that) or better gear.

glaive

Then I’ve been hacking away at my to-do list, AKA my quest log. I have quests scattered all over the place, remnants of old chains or this or that. I made it my focus to finish up the Death Knight campaign and my order hall campaign, both of which I was able to accomplish this past week. I got a particular kick out of (spoiler) how you end up taking on the role of Illidan in the raid boss fight. The NPC “party” names were funny and the comments more so, if a little meta and fourth-wall-breaking for what was supposed to be a serious story beat. Eh, I don’t mind a little silly.

chapel

The final fight through the Paladin class hall was, if not particularly hard, neat to do. Got me in the spirit of being a Death Knight, since we’re pretty much at odds with the Paladin worldview. Finally, I was crowned Deathlord and the story of the four horse…people of the apocalypse came to a conclusion.

I didn’t understand why my third artifact relic slot hadn’t opened up yet, which took some investigating. It’s not really clear, but you have to go back and talk to someone near where you level up your weapon, and that was obscured on my map.

With all of that, my iLevel is approaching 850 and I am starting to think of options for the future. Random raids? Look for mythic group runs? Or work on my Druid? I think our guild will start doing more coordinated activities once it settles down and grows more (it’s a fairly new guild but lots of great attitudes and friendships already).

headless

I lightly amused myself with dabbling in some of the Halloween content. I fought the Headless Horseman for the first time since 2008, and boy was that a rush of nostalgia. Fight’s over within seconds, but at least the LFG tool makes it easy to pop in and out.

I think I’m getting to a point in the post-expansion period where I’m able to scale down my time/interest to a more normal level, which is great for all of the other MMOs that I’ve been neglecting. Patch 7.1 is coming next week, so there might be some more stuff to do. I also should clean up quests and look at other personal goals.

4 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: Deathlord Syp (and Burpface)

  1. Freddo October 21, 2016 / 9:45 am

    I’m finding the premade groups tool to be awesome for finding mythics. Give it a try!

    It’s allso good for world bosses.

    There’s an addon that groups you with ppl doing the same WQ. It makes them faster and more manageable if you’re getting ganked.

    Hope that helps!

    /Freddo

  2. Syp October 21, 2016 / 9:53 am

    I didn’t think about the premade groups, I’ll have to look at that, thanks!

  3. Tyler F.M. Edwards October 21, 2016 / 11:56 am

    I’ve done a few mythics via group finder, but I wouldn’t recommend the experience. At the very least I recommend clearing a lot of time for it because the dungeons themselves can take a while and if you’re anything like me you’ll probably be rejected by about 20-30 groups before finding one willing to take you. Granted, being a tank or healer would probably help.

    Also, note that quests cannot be completed on mythic+ modes for some reason.

  4. Rohan October 21, 2016 / 12:44 pm

    If you do make a pre-made group in group finder, be sure to specify that it’s a learning group, and is regular mythic.

    @Tyler F.M. Edwards, mythic+ are supposed to be speed runs, so taking time to hit an optional boss or objective would cause arguments.

Leave a Reply

