Syp’s Gaming Goals: December 2016

gaming

November in review

I’d say that this past month was pretty enjoyable for gaming, especially with the release of RIFT: Starfall Prophecy. I’m slowly making my way through that expansion and greatly enjoying it (as are my guildies). Planet Coaster was my big impulsive purchase, and while it’s not bad, I don’t see it as being much more than a side diversion from time to time.

I am happy to report that I accomplished my goal of wrapping up City of the Sun God in The Secret World, and that’s going to give me great headwind going into Transylvania in December.

Interest in World of Warcraft is starting to dip for me, even though I have a lot yet to do in Suramar. I think world quests are eating into my gaming time there and making it feel more like a chore than a game. I was really happy to get my first legendary, however.

December goals

Let’s see if I can push through the entire Besieged Farmlands in TSW by the new year, shall we? There’s a couple of really tough quests in there, but I should be an old pro at failing by now.

Starfall Prophecy is going to take up a fair bit of time, I can tell. I’m only one zone down out of five in RIFT’s latest expansion, and I don’t want to peter out halfway through like I did with Nightmare Tide.

There’s just so much I’d love to do and I can tell that I’m not going to have as much time to do it this month. Still, I’d like to touch base with some old favorites this month, so doing that every so often will be a personal goal. It’s been so long since I’ve played Guild Wars 2, for example, and SWTOR has that shiny new expansion (and I haven’t even finished the last one!). Then there’s all of those Star Trek Online missions I’ve yet to do, WildStar’s Arcterra zone that I keep promising I’ll do one of these days, and more.

Project Gorgon and Elder Scrolls Online both remain on my radar, beckoning. We’ll see, my pretties, we’ll see.

What are your gaming goals for December?

3 thoughts on “Syp’s Gaming Goals: December 2016

  1. Tyler F.M. Edwards December 1, 2016 / 11:46 am

    I’m knee-deep in Knights of the Eternal Throne at the moment. So far I’m enjoying it more than the last expansion. It’s slowing down a little in the middle, but the first few chapters were really spectacular, and I imagine things will pick up again near the end.

    After that I want to work on my backlog of single-player games, so that will probably be my focus for most of the month. If TSW has any new holiday content, I’ll give it a look, and I might poke into ESO a little. Not sure.

    Oh, and I wouldn’t worry about playing through Besieged Farmlands. Most of the nightmare missions got nerfed into the ground when they did the big rebalancing.

  2. ChaosConstant December 1, 2016 / 1:23 pm

    I’m returning to WildStar this month as well. I’m hoping to work on my Engineer, as it’s a class that I’ve always thought I would like, but the mechanics are weird and it takes a lot of getting used to.
    If you do end up playing, I recommend giving the Stalker a chance. I’m normally not a big fan of rogue-type classes, so the stalker was the last class I tried, but the fact that it’s a tank with lots of mobility and a decent number of short-range AoEs and some self healing makes them one of the most fun classes I’ve ever played. Just my two cents.

  3. bhagpuss December 1, 2016 / 2:59 pm

    Working in a bookshop, December and the first half of January are insanely busy so it’s the worst time for a whole load of new content to hit the MMOs I play – which is naturally what’s happened. I’m struggling just to keep up with the new stuff in GW2 and the great new EQ2 expansion so that, plus the upcoming holiday events in each, is probably all I’m going to be able to fit in until well into the New Year.

    After that, though, I plan on stretching out again and revisiting half a dozen or so old favorites plus looking around for some new MMOs I haven’t tried yet.

Leave a Reply

