RIFT: We regained our faith, and we had fun doing it

r1

For someone with a general dislike of the overuse of dragons in MMOs and RPGs, I’ll take the solace provided in getting to harpoon one multiple times through the heart. Thanks RIFT!

We made art, built workable ballistas, forged big harpoons, and cast magic spells that made people explode on contact. ~ Veist

Last week I finished up Gedlo Badlands — zone two out of five in Starfall Prophecy — and came away from the experience feeling strangely thrilled. Oh, I’m not changing my mind on how I feel about desert zones in the least; Gedlo Badlands is extremely dull to look at and quest through, from a landscape perspective. And my guild heartily agrees that the mob density is stupid high.

But! But. But the writers managed to craft a story that was definitely odd and engaging, one of a tribe of kobolds looking for redemption, fighting against the rise of a dragon, and forging a culture in the midst of a wasteland. There were prophecies galore, a tour of public displays of art, and in the end, an epic showdown.

r2

The ending caught me off guard, too, as the kobold tribe were all (SPOILER) promoted to ascended status. I couldn’t help but feel proud and happy for these ugly underdogs that they finally were elevated to a higher status.

I actually almost missed it because of very long speeches that I thought I could just tab-out of. Cyrill isn’t that great of a character (particularly in comparison to a certain other king), but at least he shows a bit of creative thinking and a desire to grow as a person and understand other cultures.

r3

It’s time to move on to zone #3, which is a Very Green Swamp. My companions this time around are Tasuil (who is apparently bored of being a leader in the forest) and Red Eye Girl. Oh, she has a name and a backstory, but I missed both of those and now am saddled with an NPC who I know virtually nothing about.

Here’s the thing that I wish developers would understand. They are saturated in the game all the time and know its lore back and forth, particularly thanks to having design documents and lore bibles lying around. And sometimes I get the feeling they think we pick up on all of this just as easily and deeply as they do. Yet we don’t — or at least, I don’t. If I miss something or don’t remember something, the story is broken for me and I have to muddle through either not caring, or hoping that someone will fill me in later on what’s going on, or have to research it outside of the game.

What I truly wish developers would do is give us some sort of ongoing in-game journal that would summarize what my character has experienced or at least let me reference past conversations. Single player CRPGs are usually great at in-game journals, yet so few MMOs have them. What gives? Do the devs just assume that player-made wikis will compensate? That’s pretty lazy if so. I’d rather get my lore info in-game than out of it.

r4

Anyway, I had a brief interlude back in the town of Alittu, which I still consider to be a rather beautiful and strangely high-tech hub. This lady up here looked really shifty with her body language. I think she’s about to steal some art.

r5

The dark tower constantly looms over all, a sober reminder that if Ahnket gets her way, this comet would come roaring down on Telara and force an extinction-level event.

r6

To the swamp! First stop is a market where the bad faerie folk are selling unicorns and elves and bunnies to the highest bidder, usually for a sacrifice. I’m just trying to get excited about exploring a swamp. Those are often fun biomes, right?

Leave a Reply

