World of Warcraft: I found the Game Over screen

wow

Instead of being scattered across a universe of MMOs this past weekend, I gave myself permission to deep dive into World of Warcraft with the intent of finishing up the Suramar campaign and getting Broken Isles Pathfinder part 1. Sometimes I like to see bursts of progress, and I’ve found that with these city quests, it’s best that I go into them for hours at a time rather than a half-hour here and there.

While I didn’t quite get to the end, I did make tremendous progress, wrapping up three of the remaining five story arcs needed for the achievement. One of those was quite time consuming, requiring me to farm ancient mana and then go all over the place to activate ley line nodes. The finish line is definitely in sight and I’m charging forward.

I’ve started to realize that my character is kind of at the end of the core Legion content, a realization that took me by surprise. I’ve maxed out all of my order hall research and upgrades. I have well over 20,000 order hall resources for gold missions. I’ve finished my order hall and class campaigns. I’ve filled out every node on my artifact weapon. I have exalted on all of the major reputations for the expansion. My mining is maxed out and herbalism is getting there (I had to restart from 0, so being in the 600s feels pretty good). My account is paid up through the end of March and I have two WoW tokens in the bank. And my DK is rocking about an 856 item level with two legendaries, which I think is respectable considering I’ve mostly just been doing world quests for gear upgrades.

When I get to the end of the Suramar missions, I’m going to be at an interesting place where my character will have kind of hit the “Game Over” screen… at least until Patch 7.2. The path forward for gear upgrades is mythic dungeons, and since my guild doesn’t regularly do those and there’s no LFG tool (whyyyy is there no LFG tool, seriously), I’m probably not going to be grinding out incremental gear upgrades. I could focus on cosmetic acquisitions, but truth be told, I’ll probably log in to do her emissary quests a couple of times a week and wait until there’s a new zone released.

This means that I might be on the cusp of being able to work on an alt (most likely my Hunter) without feeling like I’m procrastinating on any serious projects. It might even be relaxing to not have to rush through content or catch up, but just to enjoy the journey again and see how far I can go.

I’m going to give some thought to further projects and maybe do a little research about them. There’s never any shortage of things to do, but some are more profitable or personally interesting than others.

3 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: I found the Game Over screen

  1. Syp January 12, 2017 / 10:14 am

    Yeah, the premade thing is there, but it doesn’t work like the others and is often kind of frustrating to use. I’d prefer a fully automated system for mythics like LFR and LFG. Good reminder tho.

  2. romeomoon January 12, 2017 / 10:38 am

    I love just taking m y time with MMORPGs like WoW, especially when it comes to aimless wandering. Now that I’m doing live streams, I feel like I have to hurry to keep up with my group.

Leave a Reply

