Star Control 2: The meaning of life, the universe, and everything

aqua

(This is part of my journey going checking out Star Control 2. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

Next up on my interstellar scavenger hunt to build the perfect bomb is the Aqua Helix. The good news: I know where it is. The bad news: It’s an ancient, revered relic of the Thraddash and guarded by an infinite number of their ships.

To get them to move away from the planet, I simply have to wait for the war between the Thraddash and the Ilwrath (which I started) to play out. This takes a while. Yawn. Just for fun, I take my souped-up ship against the infinite fleet and see how many I can take out before being destroyed. I think I was around 21 or so.

While I’m waiting, I make a quick portal stop back at Earth to offload minerals and restock. I’m out of free fuel credits and my RUs are starting to dip on the low side (I can only afford one of the new Chmmr ships, to my shame). I should go find some moneys.

helix

The war drags on for about four months until the Ilwrath are pretty much non-existent and the Thraddash are completely extinct. Poor space warthogs, I kind of liked them. Anyway, free Aqua Helix for me!

ut1

Hey, I’ve never met these jolly folks before! Say hello to the Utwig, who are just as cheery and optimistic as Marvin from Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Also, they have the worst racial music of the game. It’s like the composer let his four-year-old son just bang on the keyboard for a while.

ut2

So depressed are the Utwig that, right off the bat, they’re talking about suicide and self-harm. Maybe it’s because they’re trying to emulate Cobra Commander’s earlier costume design? That would bum anyone out.

ut3

The reason for this melancholy is that the Utwig had the “Ultron,” some sort of device that had ALL the answers… and they broke it. Naturally, I responded diplimatically:

ut4

God bless you, Star Control 2, for being a beacon of light in my dark life.

supox

Nearby, another race, the Supox, are pretty much the polar opposite. Cheery plant creatures with a kick-butt soundtrack.

The Supox are friends and allies of the Utwig, and they fill me in about the Ultron. Apparently it’s a piece of junk that the Utwig paid a “planet’s ransom” for, but the Supox didn’t say anything because having it made the Utwig happy. When the Ultron broke, the Utwig gave it to the Supox, who now give it to me to fix.

So those parts I’ve been collecting? They all repair the Ultron. Funny, that! Now I’ve got a fixed Ultron in my possession and a race to make happy.

ultron

Yeah, he’s a happy camper.

Now that the Utwig have found their purpose, they and the Supox become my allies and go off to attack the bad guys to buy me more time. As a bonus, I get the location of their super-bomb for my mission to destroy the precursor battle platform. Yay me!

One thought on “Star Control 2: The meaning of life, the universe, and everything

  1. Tesh January 14, 2017 / 4:03 pm

    Ah, finally, access to the Utwig Jugger ship. A bit tricky on the timing, but it can be devastating in the right hands.

Leave a Reply

