World of Warcraft: Seeking new goals

fire

The other day my tortoise-like progress through Legion was rewarded in an achievement explosion, as I finally finished up Broken Isles Pathfinder (part 1 of 16). I’d been crawling toward this for a while now, dutifully doing the Suramar quests while giving Blizzard shifty eyes about all of the Elves while doing so. But now it’s done and my Death Knight is, basically, all ready for 7.2 and the further progression of the new zone and the hope to one day regain flying. My moose, she wants to be free from the bonds of earth!

As happy as I am to reach this spot, I also am suffering the usual loss of motivation that a project goal provides. It’s the “what do I do NOW?” moment of crisis that MMO players know all too well, particularly from when they hit the max level.

part-one

I don’t feel bored with the game or itching to move on, plus there’s always that ticking subscription. I’d like to be working on something, toward something as we continue to wait for 7.2, and there certainly is no shortage of options. But what are the best ones? What would be the most fun and beneficial to pursue? I don’t want to only be doing my daily world quests and then logging out every day. That way lies burnout, sure as anything.

I’m starting to draw up a list and doing some research into this, but right now I have a few possibilities that emerge at the forefront:

  • Come up with a list of micro-goals, such as getting certain toys and transmog pieces, and then crossing those off one by one. I also need to level cooking more, so that’s something. I’d consider crafting, but I have two maxed out gathering skills, and that’s money in the bank.
  • Roll up a brand-new character. I did actually create a Gnome Priest, Syperia, because I can’t recall ever playing a Priest past level 20 or so. I don’t know if I have the heart for a full leveling journey again, though. There aren’t any classes that are screaming for me to play them that I don’t already have at 100.
  • Work on an alt. The most likely candidate right now is my Warlock, Syperstar, who has only just begun her Broken Isles questing. The question here is whether I can get into a rotation that feels natural, because after the smoothness of my Unholy DK, the Demo Warlock feels janky and awkward as all get out.
  • Start pursuing Mythics to gear up more. I’ve been dragging my feet on Mythics, but they are always a possibility and really the only way to gear up past getting into a regular raid group (which is never going to happen).
  • Do the 7.1 Suramar questline. There are still quests to be done, after all.

I do have three WoW tokens in my bags right now, so if I did drop my subscription to wait for future patches, I’d have an easy way back in. But I’m not quite there. I love my guild, like the general experience, but it’s definitely strange to have hit this goal after a long journey. In any case, there are plenty of other games and other projects left unresolved, so I’m not super-motivated to fill all available time in WoW. I just would like a direction for now.

3 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: Seeking new goals

  1. Forrestra January 19, 2017 / 5:29 pm

    I liked the Nighthold Suramar quest line. I’d recommend it.

    I cook for profit, so I found handing Nomi my mats in exchange for mostly burnt food to actually be profitable and mostly interesting at the same time.

    Working on your collections is an easy choice. There are several collections and SO many places to work on them. And you can do them as much as little as you want. But for how long can you faceroll old content?

    This week is a good place to get going on this because of Timewalking dungeons. They are easier than past Timewalking, have collection stuff to buy and completing the weekly quest grants you 660+ loot.

    I think you should do at least one alt. Just to see how the game feels a second time around. Also with the artifact knowledge and artifact power catchups, the account wide World Quest attunement, etc. Makes hitting 110 feel smoother. With the 850 level 101 BoEs, maybe even try out what a modern twink feels like.

    Mythics (especially Karazhan) would be worth getting started with… if you can find the people to run with (hopefully your guild fills that role). The Mythic+ part of it has been out so long that most pugs are expecting experienced/geared players with Mythic +7 keystones. Sort of like trying to break into Burning Crusade Heroics halfway through the expansion without the required key.

  2. kronick January 20, 2017 / 12:10 am

    I always wonder how do people get to cap so fast. I am still 106, it maybe because I am on an RP server and spend a lot of time just watching people RP 🙂 but either way, I feel like there is so much content in this game that I don’t really know if I will ever get to a point where I am done with it and cant wait until the next patch.

  3. Dobablo January 20, 2017 / 6:33 am

    When you say you’ve finished the Pathfinder and the Suramar quest stuff do you mean you only Good Suramaritan (the quests for Pathfinder Part 1) or are you including the Insurrection campaign (http://www.wowhead.com/achievement=11340)?

Leave a Reply

