World of Warcraft: Time’s up! (for cheap WoW Token prices)

subscription

Those WoW Token prices, huh?

This week, Blizzard changed the functionality of the WoW Token so that it now can either exchanged for 30 days of World of Warcraft subscription or $15 of store credit for any of its games. This change has had a two-fold, good/bad effect:

  • Good: It’s allowed players to earn and spend these tokens on a variety of services, including realm transfers and chests in Overwatch.
  • Bad: With the surge of demand, the commanding price of a WoW Token has skyrocketed, doubling in value the first day alone with no immediate signs of slowing down.

If you were to ask me, I’m not overly thrilled that this is happening. Up until now, I was able to eke out a free sub every month with the gold that I brought in through world quests, the auction house, and order hall missions. Assuming that the prices stay north of 100K and gold income remains more or less the same, it won’t be doable. One every two months, maybe.

I get the flexibility thing and I know some people are overjoyed at being able to pay for name changes, realm transfers, and other Blizzard products with it. Honestly, if the prices hadn’t jumped up so much, I would be pretty pleased too. But it is what it is, so I have to make the best of it.

For me, the good news is that I had four WoW Tokens sitting in my bank, unused (and I had just bought that fourth one last week), with game time paid through the end of March from previous tokens. Normally, that would be four more months, but now that I can get $15 per token, I have the luxury of being able to shop for multi-month subscription discounts. I figure that if I can get one more token before March is up, I’ll be able to afford the half-year package, and that takes me through September. That won’t be too shabby.

Does this make me cheap? A little, I suppose, but then again, I’m playing WoW for maybe 30 minutes a day right now, and that’s close to my threshold of saying, “Nah, not worth paying a monthly sub.” But if I can earn it, it helps take the mental pressure off the situation.

Post-script: I wrote the above on Tuesday, and by Wednesday morning the prices in NA had dropped from 115K gold to a much more reasonable 61K gold (which puts it only a few thousand higher than it had been earlier this week). So obviously the market is volatile and we’re going to have to wait a bit to see how and where it settles — and if any promotions in other games or sales cause increased demand. But if it comes back to near where it was, that gives me much more hope for continuing to earn my sub through gameplay.

3 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: Time’s up! (for cheap WoW Token prices)

  1. Erol Altinbasak February 8, 2017 / 3:16 pm

    No WoW Tokens for sale on Silvermoon this morning. Not a good sign. I think some gold-capped players just cleared them out and pre-own the next decade of blizzard content…

  2. Hawkinson February 8, 2017 / 7:07 pm

    Subscription packs can’t be purchased for b/net balance. If you want game time via token you have to use the token.

  3. Syp February 8, 2017 / 8:12 pm

    From Blizzard: “Battle.net Balance cannot be used to set up a subscription but you can use it to purchase Game time cards through the Blizzard Shop.”

Leave a Reply

