The Secret World: Take me to church (Besieged Farmlands #7)

ch1

(Join Syp as he attempts to document a complete playthrough of The Secret World from start to finish. What will The Secret Adventures discover next? Find out in this exciting installment! WARNING: Spoilers and stories ahead!)

Foul Banquet (action mission)

Outside the village, past the vampire projects, is a little church (I’m going to say Greek Orthodox and feel free to correct me here) that somehow remains untouched by the carnage going on all around it. Inside are two figures, a priest and a vampire, who sit talking and might well be friends or at least fond acquaintances.

ch2

You’re in God’s house, son. Pay some respect.

The priest tells me how the local ghoul population has started to dig up and feast upon the corpses, which (1) yuck and (2) must be stopped because see #1. For some reason, this mission is flagged as “nightmare” level for me, which I haven’t seen at all in this zone so far. Usually that’s linked to how strong your gear is in comparison, so maybe some of my gear is pretty weak. Oh well, I’m doing it anyway.

ch3

The ghouls are pretty tough, I’ll give you that, but I still am able to take them out without dying once. It’s a slog through a combination graveyard and junkyard, interesting for the scenery if not the fights. As I’m killing the ghouls, I stumble upon some old reel-to-reel tapes and start collecting them up.

The more I find, the more excited I get. What could be on them? My curiosity rises to a fever pitch as I start to repair a machine on which to play them. There’s a heart-stopping moment when I’m caught up in the repairs and a boss suddenly attacks me from behind — kudos, TSW — but in the end I’m able to play them and…

…it’s the same disappointing photo of the Soviet supersoldier we saw in that Dr. Varias mission. No new info, nothing. What a letdown!

cold1

In Cold blood (action mission)

The vampire in the church, Hasdatean, is an interesting character, even if he only has one mission. He was a Romanian general from the 1800s that got turned into a vampire yet didn’t join the current marauding horde stampeding all over Transylvania. He considers these vamps savages and brutes without honor, and it’s apparent that he’s come to some sort of truce with the local human populace over this — country before species and all that.

Anyway, he goes on about how hard and painful it is for a vampire to come back from a good old-fashioned staking and suggests that I give it a try. If you’ve ever wanted to play cat-and-mouse with ancient historical vampires, now’s your chance.

cold2

The mission is less an action-packed romp than it is an extended trek all over the map to track down the three vamps in various locations (observatory, siege camp, werewolf camp for some reason) and fight them. Each flies away, leading me to their secret base: a run-down mill.

The final battle with all three had me stumped for a half minute there, because I wasn’t quite paying attention and couldn’t seem to finish them off. Then I remembered, oh yeah, staking. I used the stakes in my bag and poof, down they went. Enjoy the painful reanimation, boys!

5 thoughts on “The Secret World: Take me to church (Besieged Farmlands #7)

  1. Sylow February 10, 2017 / 11:33 am

    Whenever it gets to Hasdatean and Father Lucian, i just can’t stop to emphasize, how awesome their conversations are. Mind you, cutscenes in this game are always above what to expect in an MMO, but the combination of these two characters is still outstanding. 🙂

  2. Gamera977 February 10, 2017 / 12:45 pm

    Hmmmm, I got the ‘nightmare’ rating as well but didn’t find it any more difficult than the ‘normal’ missions.

    And yeah, they’re great NPCs, I’d love to see more quests from them.

  3. pkudude99 February 10, 2017 / 3:27 pm

    “Nightmare” rating means that the mobs are a) a little tougher, and b) sometimes drop signets!

    That area with the ghouls behind the church is the easiest of the “nightmare” stuff (well, maybe excepting the airport in Solomon Island) and thus when I was playing tended to be heavily farmed by people looking for signet drops.

    “Nightmare” has absolutely nothing to do with your gear level. The color codings are tied to the gear level and thus change as you skill up, but nightmare simply “is.”

  4. Tyler F.M. Edwards February 10, 2017 / 6:56 pm

    As noted above, the nightmare tag is not tied to level, but a signifier of more challenging and rewarding missions that award better loot. They’re targeted to endgame players and often require specific builds in order to beat.

    Nightmare missions used to be much more common, but since the big difficulty revamp they’re now quite rare. It’s a shame — it was a huge blow to the endgame for solo players.

  5. Triski February 11, 2017 / 9:38 am

    The church is more likely a Romanian Orthodox Church, one of the Eastern Orthodox Christian Churches (such as the Greek Orthodox Church, the Russian Orthodox Church, or the Orthodox Church in America).

    That’s nitpicky, I know, but you did ask. 🙂

Leave a Reply

