Duke Nukem 3D: Red Light District

f1

(This is part of my journey going checking out Duke Nukem 3D. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

When Duke Nukem 3D starts up, there’s a warning on the splash screen for “Adult Content.” This wasn’t an ESRB thing; it’s partially a butt-covering move for the cartoonish gore and scantily clad women and partially an advertisement to get more people to play. We didn’t really have the internet as we knew it back then, so this was pretty scandalous and cheeky stuff.

Anyway, today we’re going to go right into the Red Light District, and before you ask, no, I won’t be creating a softcore gallery on this post. The game may stoop to such levels but I will not.

fly

In my last Duke Nukem 3D post, I talked about how fun and satisfying the weapons are in this game. But the fun thing is that you didn’t just have weapons — the game also gives you all sorts of fun little gadgets to help out. There’s the jetpack, which opens up the vertical space to exploration (which was mindblowing back in this time), a decoy hologram, and even a device to shrink enemies so you can step on them. That was a good time in PvP.

shop

Inside a store, the mutant aliens are, I don’t know, perusing the magazines and working the retail counter. It amuses me to think of how they might be passing the time until Duke comes along to ruin their day.

holo

Holoduke. You must remember that for most players, Total Recall was still a recent movie and everyone loved the part with Arnold’s hologram.

toilet

The 10-year-old in me deeply loves blowing up the toilets in this game.

dukedie

I know they want me to be offended, but I’m just tickled that they took the time and effort to make me a sign!

building

Yes, you get to blow up a building with controlled explosives. This is one of my favorite things in video games when I was a teen. (I had a sad life.)

pool

Inside the bar is another one of my favorite silly-fun things: a pool table that you can actually play. Seriously, like play to the end.

bronco

Nothing like a reference to OJ Simpson’s flight from justice in the white Bronco to make this game as timeless as it is.

After an epic shootout in a seizure-inducing strip club (and no, I’m not going to show it), the pigs end up capturing Duke in the attic thanks to prison bars slamming down (?). They’re gonna fry the Duke! Oh noes!

One thought on “Duke Nukem 3D: Red Light District

  1. Tyler F.M. Edwards February 12, 2017 / 12:11 am

    You know, I like how 90s games would just randomly throw “3D” into the title despite not really being 3D in any particular sense of the term.

Leave a Reply

