Star Trek Online: Back to the Delta Quadrant

hy1

I swear, getting to tour around ships and see what interesting room designs are around the corner is pretty much the only reason I put up with ground combat.

In terms of my slow-as-snails progression in Star Trek Online, I hit a bit of a snag. I wanted to jump into the Iconian War arc, but apparently it’s all grayed out until I complete the entirety of the Delta Rising expansion. You know, the expansion I left in the middle of for how boring and annoying it was. It kind of chafes that the devs don’t let you pick and choose your episode arcs, especially at max level. It’s not like I’m really gleaning a great story or need to know this for the test later.

What makes this worse is that my interest in the game is hovering around 20% of so these days. Enough to log in once in a while and do a post, but when I do, I want to be playing the content that interests me, not Neelix’s leftovers.

hy2

So I’m in the middle of some long chain, the narrative thread lost to me a long time ago. There are the aliens that sound like a type of furniture, Vaadwuar or something? Yeah, those guys. And we’re friends with the Romulans and Klingons, which is all kinds of weird. Anyway, my first mission back was a boarding effort on a hijacked Romulan ship. This was interesting enough for the touring aspect and the alien bad guy who solves all of his problems with uppercuts.

fish

From there it’s a trip back to Kobali Prime, the planet of soul-sucking. It’s one of those places that you can’t understand what went so wrong in Cryptic’s meeting rooms.

INTERN: I just finished up with that player survey, and as expected, the least-popular activities in the game all have to do with ground combat.

LEAD DEV: So you’re saying… more ground combat?

INTERN: No sir, just the opposite.

LEAD DEV: A *huge zone* of nothing but ground combat?

INTERN: Uhhh…

LEAD DEV: And we’ll restrict each player to only two additional bridge crew!

INTERN: [headdesk]

Star Trek Online does a lot of things well, but usually those things are done in balanced moderation. Kobali Prime is an example of a dev falling too much in love with public quests and World War I battlefields.

At least during one of those long public battles, another player decided to spray the area with confetti and flopping Swedish fish. THIS IS SRS SCI-FI, PPL!

4 thoughts on “Star Trek Online: Back to the Delta Quadrant

  1. Green Dragoon February 13, 2017 / 12:06 pm

    May I offer a little advice. As long you’re high enough level, you can skip any mission (with the exception of a couple of gateway missions.) The button is right there next to the Hail button in the mission journal. You can just continue to skip until you hit the end of Delta Rising.

    If your goal is to get into the Iconian War,You can skip until you hit What’s Let Behind. play that as that’s where they start setting up for the next arc. You can skip Dust to Dust, Though it’s a pretty good Harry Kim episode, it’s not essential to the upcoming plot. After that You’re into the Iconian War arc and set from there.

    What’s Left Behind requires level 55 and the start of the Iconian War requires level 56.

  2. Syp February 13, 2017 / 2:40 pm

    I didn’t know you could do that! Thanks for the advice!

  3. Telwyn February 15, 2017 / 6:50 am

    Green Dragoon beat me too it, although I didn’t need to skip when I played the Iconian War arc last year -possibly because it was more recent then. It’s great btw, I haven’t touched the Delta Quadrant stuff yet as my character leveled past it doing earlier arcs.

  4. gregmulka February 17, 2017 / 3:55 pm

    Thank Loki I’m not the only one who intensely dislikes Delta Rising. I took a break right when it came out and recently jumped back in. I’ve got my Romulan up to 59. But I haven’t been able to devote much time to the game these past couple weeks. I’ve made the last two levels entirely on Crew missions, anniversary dailies, and Admiralty missions.

Leave a Reply

