World of Warcraft: Treading water

wowscrnshot_112416_220737

Logging in to do my daily emissary quests feels a lot like treading water in World of Warcraft. I mean, I get wet, I cool off, and I can fool myself that I’ve gone swimming, but it’s not that impressive overall. I should suck it up and finish the last Suramar chain and then really focus on my Hunter for a bit, but I’m not feeling particularly motivated and I’m not going to push it. I also could be making some more money by picking up additional world quests (especially gathering ones), but again, not a lot of motivation.

I’m drowning in order hall resources right now, somewhere around 40,000 or so, because I only spend them on missions for gold now that my champions are all maxed out. Gold-making missions are very unpredictable; there might be days in a row without seeing any, then two or three on a given day. Trying for the right combination to get the 200% bonus is the only challenge there.

I did have a stroke of good fortune this past Thursday, as my emissary quest paid out my third legendary. Now, to my great dismay, I’m going to have to choose: my auto-bubble shield, my beefed-up magic shield, or this new one, which lets me shoot out an AOE fireball every 1:20. I decided to ditch the magic shield (auto > situational activation), since the fireball packs a huge punch and has a cooldown that’s low enough to use every other fight. It did require me to go hunting for a new cape, since the loss of that legendary left the slot open, but thanks to world quests, I got a replacement in minutes.

Getting more into mythics and raiding might be a possibility, at least for a sporadic activity, but for now I’m really hoping that 7.2 is nearer rather than further away.

2 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: Treading water

  1. Nick February 14, 2017 / 12:21 am

    Precisely how I feel about the game, except most days, I’m not bothering to get into the pool at all. I know I should be finishing up the last little bits towards flying… I just can’t feel bothered to do it.

  2. Telwyn February 14, 2017 / 5:52 am

    I was discussing this with friends last night, we’re at a low ebb now, one of us raids so that’s enough to keep him involved but for myself and the other we’re ready to move on to something else for a bit – at least until 7.2 comes along. World quests and the Suramar story are nice but they’re not so revolutionary that they can prevent burnout…

Leave a Reply

