The Secret World: Super-sized windmill (Besieged Farmlands #10)

were

(Join Syp as he attempts to document a complete playthrough of The Secret World from start to finish. What will The Secret Adventures discover next? Find out in this exciting installment! WARNING: Spoilers and stories ahead!)

Lycantrophy (side mission)

I think I’ve mentioned already how unimpressed I am at The Secret World’s stock werewolf models as I am impressed at the vampire ones. It just seems like the team could’ve been a little more creative with the doggies, but as they are, they could fit in well with many other MMO versions of the lycanthropes. I guess I’m being picky.

This mission, which comes from a hunting poster on a tunnel wall, is merely a breadcrumb mission to funnel players into the Shadowy Forest. I’m not quite there yet, but I’ll duck in to turn in a few werewolf ears. I collect a LOT of body parts in this game. I think I’m the stuff of nightmares that children fear.

wind

Revenge Served Hot (action mission)

I’ve always found the windmill in this zone to be one of TSW’s more striking visual landmarks. It’s this giant, oversized, ramshackle windmill that sticks up from the landscape like some demented haunted farm feature. And yet it’s the refuge of two visitors under siege — two friends who are mourning the loss of both a brother and a boyfriend (same person) while fending off werewolf attacks.

But the question is, why were the three of them here in Transylvania in the first place? The girlfriend says that they were here to take in the local sights and be all touristy, but I’m not buying it. There’s more going on here than she knows.

den

Yeah, this place screams, “Come inside! We’re friendly and have cake to share!”

Following the backtrail of the dead man, a new and fuller story emerges. He had come into the possession of an artifact and was coming to Romania to sell it… only the werewolves attacked, dragged him into a Filth-infested den, and bad things happened after that. The buyer sent in a team to get it (Purples?), but they all got infected, and we learn an important lesson in Letting Things Go.

The bulk of this mission takes place inside of a werewolf den that’s crawling (walking?) with very, very tough mobs. They con straight-up black to me, and while I could manage one or two at a time, it was a close thing every encounter. In the end, I take out a dozen or so wolves — and the artifact, with Geary said was a good move.

blaj

Herbal Essence (side mission)

Deep inside that horrible werewolf den is a very dead Blajini, who was out looking for some mushrooms. I mean, if you’re going to die for something, mushrooms are as noble as it gets, right? No regrets in your life, little dude?

I finish up his shopping list, getting the ‘shrooms and some lily pads to boot, and then bring back these herbs to Cucuvea, which we’ve yet to meet in this series. But we shall, and hopefully then this shopping list — which already claimed the life of one innocent — will show its purpose.

The Girls Who Cried Wolf (action mission)

This mission has perhaps one of my all-time favorite opening cutscenes of any Secret World mission. As I’m talking to the first girl about how magical the windmill is and how vicious pretty girls in distress can be, the other French girl is wailing away in the background against an onslaught of werewolves.

I mean, it’s downright comical how calm and tranquil the foreground conversation is while she’s serving up a gore-splattered horror fest back there. Chainsaws, decapitations, fountains of blood, etc. At least she’s working out her anger issues about the death of her brother.

At first I thought that this mission was merely another “go here and kill a crapton of werewolves” bit, albeit somewhat easier than the previous one. However, it soon took an unexpected turn, as I encounter a lot of (naturally dead) Orochi in the area. Why didn’t I start a counter back at the beginning of this whole series to count how many dead Orochi are in this game? That would’ve been awesome. Anyway, lots of dead Orochi who apparently removed some ward stones from the windmill — which is, as you might think, much more than a bizarre giant monument.

Turns out that this structure has been built on top of an anima well, made to be some sort of sanctuary by a “Dutchman” for the good fae and nice people of the forest. Since the removal of the wards, the werewolves have started to encroach and an evil spirit lurks in the windmill’s cave, but restoring the wards and shooting evil in the face a few hundred times put a quick stop to that.

Hopefully, this means the French girls are safe for now. Never get much resolution with most NPCs in this game, alas.

One thought on “The Secret World: Super-sized windmill (Besieged Farmlands #10)

  1. Sylow March 8, 2017 / 4:58 am

    “I think I’ve mentioned already how unimpressed I am at The Secret World’s stock werewolf models as I am impressed at the vampire ones. It just seems like the team could’ve been a little more creative with the doggies, but as they are, they could fit in well with many other MMO versions of the lycanthropes. I guess I’m being picky.”

    Actually there are some missions, expecially those at the start of the Carpathian Fangs, which give the Werewolves a bit more of a face. The only “problem” there is that they also actually are wretched, abused creatures. For the vampires, the whole “being used and abused and turned into an army” take was very new. But for Werewolves we’re very much used to them being treated badly.

    For the the story, what’s going on there in Transylvania and for the mood it creates this image matches. Making Werewolves different for the sole sake of making a difference would not really improve the game. I wouldn’t know how to change them without hurting the game.

    “This mission has perhaps one of my all-time favorite opening cutscenes of any Secret World mission.”

    Not even in my top 10. And my all-time favourites remain the two with Hasdatean and Father Lucian. But i see where you are coming from, the Image that cutscene paints is amusing while at the same time presenting strong women. Many MMOs out there could learn from this.

Leave a Reply

