Vote: What retro games would you like to see covered?

As I wrap up the Duke Nukem 3D series this week, I’m looking through my GOG library and trying to prioritize some of the titles that I would ideally like to cover over the next year. I thought I’d list the ones I’m looking at for you along with my thoughts on them, and then ask you to fill out a short poll to pick the one(s) that you would like to see me play and blog about the most.

1. Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords

I’ve played this lesser-known KOTOR game a few times in the past — but never beaten it. It’d make for a very interesting playthrough, what with all its grey morality, although it could be incredibly long too.

2. Vampire: The Masquerade Bloodlines

Probably the only vampire game that I’ve ever liked, Bloodlines was downright inventive and gripping from start to finish. Who wouldn’t want to see me play an insane vamp roaming the town looking for new blood?

3. Day of the Tentacle

There are some “classics” that I’ve never had the privilege to play in the LucasArts library, and this is one of them. I have the new remastered version, although I might want to play the original instead for purity’s sake and all that. Heard it’s incredibly funny.

4. Sam and Max Hit the Road

Pretty much the same as above: I’ve heard awesome things about this game but never picked it up, for some reason. I love doing adventure games for retro playthroughs, because they offer the best screenshots and ongoing story.

5. Deus Ex

A FPS/RPG in the vein of System Shock 2 that offered a surprising number of options and paths to progressing through the story. Definitely one of the more well-known classics of its time and I am interested to see how it’s held up over the years.

6. Colonization

One of my college strategy favorites, even more so than Civilization. I’d need to reaquaint myself with all of the systems and screens, but from there it would be the story of Syp’s struggle for independence and liberty in the New World.

7. The Sims

As you might have guessed from this morning’s post, the Sims are very much on my mind lately. I don’t have my old disks but I managed to pick up a cheap copy of the original to revisit one of my favorite PC games of all time. Anyone up for drowning people in swimming pools?

So now it’s your turn: choose as many of these games in the following poll so that I can see where interest lies and perhaps adjust my plans accordingly.

5 thoughts on “Vote: What retro games would you like to see covered?

  1. Gamera977 March 10, 2017 / 12:36 pm

    Probably doesn’t make any difference but there is a ‘restored’ version of KOTAR II out that replaces deleted material cut to push the game out for Christmas when it was released. I’ve been slowly playing though and enjoying it so far. The Steam version automatically upgrades if you click on the restored version under the Steam Workshop.

  2. Dolnor March 10, 2017 / 1:45 pm

    Sam and Max Hits The Road = zany humor and antics which you would enjoy. Day of the Tentacle has been over-reviewed-played in the past. Sam and Max gets so little exposure these days!

    TQQdles™

  3. Shintar March 10, 2017 / 2:05 pm

    Can’t go wrong with classic LucasArts adventures! I actually played and loved both of the titles on this list as a teenager and would be curious to see your take on them.

    I kind of don’t want you to play KOTOR 2 because I’ve never played it but I want to… if only they’d release it on mobile already. The mobile port was what finally got me to play through the first one on my tablet while commuting. If you wrote about a KOTOR 2 playthrough here, I’d be conflicted between enjoying your writing and wanting to avoid spoilers. 😛

  4. DDOCentral March 12, 2017 / 10:06 pm

    Vampire: The Masquerade Bloodlines

Leave a Reply

