KOTOR 2: Prologue

(This is part of my journey going checking out Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords (henceforth referred to on this site as “KOTOR 2” because there ain’t no way I’m typing all of that out every time) is a very odd and special duck in the Old Republic series. While the first game, developed by BioWare, was a huge hit, this sequel was farmed off to Obsidian and rushed through to make it for a Christmas release. It did well in sales but was criticized for feeling unfinished and didn’t quite attain the level of popular acclaim as KOTOR 1 did. However, in the years since, it’s become a cult favorite, especially as fans have restored a lot of previously cut content into the game that was lurking in the game files.

I have played KOTOR 2 a couple of times in the past but never to completion. The first time was on the Xbox (I had one for about ten minutes back in the early 2000s) and the second time was a few years ago. I’ve always wanted to get through the entire game, especially since I did like what I had experienced so far. It was a darker title, full of morally grey scenarios and topics, and even had an evil Wookiee. So why not now, in 2017?

You might know that I don’t tend to like the Force-using characters in SWTOR, so while KOTOR 2 forces me to choose one of three types of Jedi to play, I’m going to push against that as much as I can by making a blaster-wielding Jedi who eschews lightsabers. Inelegant? It’s who I am, baby! That’s right, what are you going to do about that, game? Probably kick my butt.

I’m also not going to aim for a strict light or dark side playthrough, but simply choose whichever choices seem the most interesting or appealing to me at the time. We’ll see where that leads.

I love how KOTOR 2 starts. I’m a different Jedi than Revan — the “Outcast,” as I’ll soon be called — but I’m still on the Ebon Hawk. Apparently the Sith have been ravaging the galaxy, killing Jedi left and right, and I barely escaped an ambush. While I’m AFK in the medical lab, a lone astromech (T3-M4) is tasked with saving the ship and getting it to a nearby mining station.

You can skip the prologue, but personally I think it’s pretty interesting from a tourism and storytelling point of view, so I’m going to do it. There’s a lot of tutorial stuff about how the KOTOR games work, and while KOTOR 2 does make some odd UI changes from the first game, essentially it’s still the same.

Probably the coolest part is when T3 ends up going outside on the hull to recover parts. It’s here that you can see that a good chunk of the Ebon Hawk is simply gone (the lounge area, if I recall). T3 doesn’t have a problem getting the remaining engine online, and he even makes a friend by repairing another droid and recruiting it into his party.

A cutscene shows a very familiar figure emerge from the flames as the ship docks at the mining station. Some blaster bolts fire off-screen, and I think that’s it for our little astromech friends.

I still love ya, HK-47!

My character finally emerges from unconsciousness in a bacta tank on the station. She’s surrounded by all of these other figures, but other than that, the station is quiet.

Very quiet.

TOO QUIET.

Leave a Reply

