Why does World of Warcraft’s 7.2 feel so lackluster?

After a couple of weeks with World of Warcraft’s latest update, I have come to a somewhat disheartening conclusion: Patch 7.2 is a letdown. It’s not a bad patch, per se, but for being this “one of the biggest content patches ever released! so awesome!1!!” event, it’s definitely lackluster from my perspective.

The new zone? Just another world quest arena with unfortunately ugly landscape. The “build your base” mechanic? A crappy and temporary rehash of garrisons. The invasions? Interesting the first few times, but not really worth repeating past that. The additional artifact traits? Welcome, I guess, but it’s a sign of more grinding. The new dungeon? Pretty enough, but instantly gets dumped into the vat of dungeons that aren’t worth doing for the rewards since I’m overgeared already. The new raid? Not out yet. Class mounts? Not there yet.

What really rankles is that the one feature that I want is being stubborn about becoming available. Of course, that’s flying. After all of the hoops we jumped through for Broken Isles Patchfinder Part 1, you’d think that Part 2 would be a lot easier, and in truth, it kind of is. Just explore all of the new zone and get the new rep up to exalted. Simple enough for even me to comprehend.

But that rep is proving to be a real stickler. Apparently you used to be able to get 1500 rep from doing each invasion assault in the beta, but on live they changed it to just the first time and then never thereafter. So… there goes all of my motivation for running assaults, right? Seems like such a stupid decision. What I’m left with is collecting rep in drips and drabs from world quests in Broken Shore with the occasional building material turn-in. It’s not impossible; I’ll probably be done in a couple of weeks. But it’s silly to gate it this slow after all of our accomplishments to date. At least I won’t have to ever do this again on my account.

The result of all of this is that I don’t feel any more entertained right now than I did prior to 7.2 releasing. I’m actually far more excited for the features of 7.2.5, because they sound really fun — time-travel quests and silly micro-holidays and the like. That’s what I want to do.

It’s made me mull alts again. My Warlock is 109, so pretty much right at World Quest level, but part of me would like to get out of Legion for an alternate character. So maybe a new alt… I keep eyeing that Monk, contemplating a healer. Could be the time for it.

4 thoughts on “Why does World of Warcraft’s 7.2 feel so lackluster?

  1. Forrestra April 13, 2017 / 9:41 am

    I look at this patch as a ramp up and catch up patch. A time to catch your breath before the raid.

    Instead of having you hang out all day waiting for invasions to pop, they give you incentive to hang out on the broken shore for a while. Learn the ugly landscape. Figure out how to get to the rares, the treasures. Chip at the holes in your main’s gear.

    And after a few weeks of that with flying, switch to alts. With AK catchup, 850 cheap gear and 880 expensive gear, the expansion sheds its alt unfriendly feel.

    Now granted I don’t disagree some of the new content and mechanics feels a little weak. Although that just means once I finish with my main and perhaps an alt or two, I’ll spend more time on my Pet Dungeons and perhaps the Brawler’s Guild while I wait for the raid to come out.

  2. Tyler F.M. Edwards April 13, 2017 / 11:52 am

    It’s actually only revered for flying. Exalted is required for your class mount, but not flying.

    It does seem a bit weird that Blizzard has so heavily gated this patch. I had planned to go back to WoW as soon as the patch went live, but I might as well just wait until all the content has been unlocked. Getting to revered for flying will be much easier once they unlock the full storyline (which by my calculations should be done by June-ish). I’ve got lots of other games to play, so it doesn’t bother me, but it seems a little counter-productive from Blizzard’s perspective. I’m being incentivized not to play.

  3. Telwyn April 14, 2017 / 8:03 am

    I’ve not found 7.2 that engaging, especially with the invasions being so infrequent and not that memorable. So far two of the extra class-specific companions that I’ve unlocked have annoying voice-overs that or lack good synergy with my current roster so that’s somewhat disappointing too.

    Gear grind is meaningless to me though so I suppose I’m not the target audience for this patch. I do want to see what else comes in the 11-weekly quests that we’ll eventually get. I’d only see the raid in LFR to complete any necessary main story quest, so I guess I’ll have to wait a further 6-odd weeks for wings of that to progressively be unlocked for LFR once the other modes have been activated.

    To be honest I’m more motivated to carry on leveling my Deathknight to see the class hall for that character than anything post-cap on my four level 110s.

  4. Nick Martin April 14, 2017 / 3:25 pm

    I’d lost my interest with 7.1.5, and nothing that was in 7.2 could bring it back. My game time lapsed, and I just couldn’t be bothered to come back and start into the new stuff. It’s a shame, because I really enjoyed the expansion when it first launched, but the various problems with the RNG nature of everything, the fact that it’s so hostile to alts, and the forced content to complete some important milestones like crafting or the like just soured the experience for me.

    We’ll see if 7.3 can bring it back, though by that point, I’ll have to spend a bunch of time trying to get flying…

Leave a Reply

