City of Heroes, you are still remembered


Last Friday night the faithful turned out to celebrate City of Heroes’ 13th birthday celebration in Paragon Chat, and while there wasn’t any blastin’ or tankin’ going on, in many other ways it was the same-old City of Heroes shindig that we always loved. There were costume contests (so many contests), impromptu dance parties, stoic torch holding, badge races, trivia contests, and lots of friendly chatter.

Representing Massively OP, I went around and played the part of the goggling tourist, taking screenshots and ogling everyone’s incredible costumes. We were talking on the livestream about how much the game had added and changed since I left sometime after City of Villains, and boy you can tell that in these looks. That’s not to say that there weren’t many familiar costume pieces as well…

Still feel a lot for this community that had their game and home taken away from them before its time. The protest lives on, even if it’s more subdued. Lots of simmering residual anger toward NCsoft bubbled up to the surface that night.

The crowd started getting bigger and the little Atlas Park platform quickly became a moshpit of weirdos and heroes.

The civilized hero drinks coffee whilst thinking back to the halcyon days of Paragon Studios and live servers.

Meanwhile, Syp Had Fun With Emotes. I didn’t realize there were so many in the game and tried out pretty much all of them. The dances were the best, and I think that the Robot was the best suited for my steam-mechanical outfit.

Tea is truly the refined hero’s beverage of choice. Did I say hero? This guy looks like a minor god out of a pantheon of modeling deities.

Even a villain or two showed up to glower in support…

I did take a brief side tour to the monorail station to see if I could get to other zones. Turns out, yes, I could. They’re awfully empty, of course, and that felt so dang eerie that I quickly went back to Atlas Park.

Lots of clowns, harlequins, and jokers represented. I don’t really want to know the why behind this.

Bree and I enjoyed hanging out with the crowd, interacting a bit while recalling some of our favorite memories from the game (good AND bad).

In one of the costume contests there was a guy dressed as a jet. Best jet costume all night, to tell the truth. Probably a GM or something, since a Borg cube showed up later.

Here’s an image that will haunt my dreams: The BK Big Fish. He eats your eyes first — and you thank him for it, since you won’t have to look at that costume any longer.

2 thoughts on “City of Heroes, you are still remembered

  1. romeomoon May 4, 2017 / 10:43 am

    CoH was the first game I played with 3D environments. I was a late comer to the gaming hobby, having only started in 2008 when a friend invited me to play Diablo II:LoD. I learned about CoH by showing up to the UW Anime Club early and watching the other club members play on their laptops.

    It was pretty much love at first sight, even though it took me some time to get used to the controls. The characters I created inspired me in my writing and art projects, and I continue to look back at my time in the game to mine ideas.

    I was lucky enough to capture the final two hours for a special episode of my podcast as well as some time in the Ski Chalet:

    With Paragon Chat around, I can at least explore the maps of the game I never got to see.

  2. Soshi Sen May 9, 2017 / 4:37 am

    Wow, this takes me back. I miss that game so much

Leave a Reply

