World of Warcraft: On a break

Lately in World of Warcraft, my play time has been short and rather aimless. I’ve logged on to do my daily emissary without enthusiasm or an understanding why I’m doing them. The flying makes it easy, I suppose, and getting gold to get more subscription time to do more emissary quests… wait, I sense a loop. And not the fun Groundhog’s Day-type loop, either.

Otherwise? I’ve lost interest in cleaning up my DK quest log and have been puttering about with my lowbie Warlock, logging in for a few quests and a quick hit of nostalgia. But then I start thinking about how long of a road it is to get all the way up to the cap… and how I feel like I’ve exhausted my interest in Legion as it is… and I think I might be done.

It’s not as though I’ve had a bad run, here. For a game that I had sworn, up and down, that I would never return to, I’d just spent a rather enjoyable year and a half questing through two expansions and hanging out with a nice guild. It’s not gaming time that I regret spending, but when I no longer feel compelled, interested, or enticed to keep on logging in, I know it’s probably time to hang up my hat and focus my efforts elsewhere.

I’ve already unsubscribed, and my game time will run out at the end of July. I’ll buy a game time token and leave it in my bags in case I want to come back at some point without ponying up for a sub.

And it’s not as though I’m lacking other things to do. I have a pile of single-player games that continue to be resolutely unplayed. I haven’t even purchased Mass Effect Andromeda yet. There’s an expansion to look forward to in LOTRO, the same in Guild Wars 2, and SWTOR’s starting to get more of my time, too. Then there’s Secret World Legends come mid-summer, and I’ll be too busy to really miss doing my WoW dailies.

What would bring me back? Patch 7.3 would really have to be something way, way better than 7.1 and 7.2. Maybe legacy servers, but I sincerely doubt anything of the sort will ever happen. And then there’s always the excitement over a new expansion, come a year or two from now. But for right here, right now, it’s probably best to part ways before burnout sets in and resentment grows.

4 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: On a break

  1. jameshateswordpress May 17, 2017 / 1:04 pm

    I feel exactly the same.

    You said “legacy servers” – what have you heard, will that be a future possibility?

    That would bring back the excitement!

  2. Rowan May 17, 2017 / 1:43 pm

    “fun Groundhog’s Day-type loop”

    Taint no such thing.

  3. Isey May 17, 2017 / 3:27 pm

    I left before 7.2, having wholly enjoyed this expansion but there is little desire to go back. I kind of wanted to wrap up all the Suramar plot lines, get flying, etc – but having a full gear reset on a patch (that is usually saved for an expansion, no?) just made all the time and effort I spent gearing up prior feel cheapened. If token prices drop back down under the 75k mark I might but I doubt that will happen. Pretty sure Blizzard controls the supply side of that to keep that climbing higher.

  4. Forrestra May 26, 2017 / 9:38 am

    With all the systems they’ve created in this expansion, the game is very good at helping you set goals, and giving you a few ways to accomplish them. And throwing in a few side activities (pets, brawlers guild, weekly archaeology quest, etc) to fill in the questing/dungeon gaps.

    But when you run out of goals you are done. Once you finish Suramar, meet your (many or few) dungeon/raiding/crafting goals, with 7.2.5 being devoid of content, that’s it.

    On one hand its typical of WoW to run out of things to do. On the other, it seems like the “things to do” train was longer this time around. So when it comes to its inevitiable end (at least for now) its disappointing because the expansion had led you into: “Maybe they’ll do it THIS time”. And if 7.2.5 had been more like Patch 5.1: Landfall, I think you’d still be playing.

Leave a Reply

