DDO: Gnomes, noises, noses, and nostalgia

I won’t bore you too terribly with my own personal gaming crisis, because (a) it only applies to me, (b) will come off sounding like I’m a petulant man-boy who can never be entertained, and (c) further illustrates how wishy-washy I am on any given day toward various MMOs. To sum it up, I haven’t been able to really settle down with MMORPGs this summer. The burnout that started in WoW seems to be extending all over the place for me, and all I really want at this point is one game that will grab me, keep my interest, and give me plenty of goals.

I’ve been flicking through various titles just to get outside of my immediate roster, kind of like how you might do with other games or books or movies (for the record, I’ve been scaling back on games this month to do more writing and reading, so it’s not like I depend solely on MMOs to be my free time entertainment). Revisiting some older titles, trying out a few different ones, and thinking about ESO’s Morrowind now that it’s gotten some good reviews and word-of-mouth.

One of my old favorites I did return to was Dungeons and Dragons Online. It was like jacking into an overdose of nostalgia. Back in the day — around the beginning of Bio Break’s run, in fact — DDO was a heavy part of my gaming rotation. I loved this game so very much and enjoyed the group runs with friends immensely. I still think that the format, the multiple campaign worlds, the sheer variety of class and race builds, and the GM narration is brilliant. Of course, the visuals are dating even more so than LOTRO, but I suppose you have to get over that if you’re going to give the game a chance in 2017.

I rolled up a Gnome Bard. The Bard wasn’t new to me, but the Gnome was. Somewhat bigger nose, funkier hairdos, and a little leaner than the halfling race. I liked it, and I know that I always had a fondness for the Bard’s hybrid approach. I didn’t do any grouping that night, but I did run through the familiar tutorial quest and then the first dungeon solo, trusting in my fleet footing and ability to heal myself to save the day.

When going back to old favorite games, I find that sound design is a crucial key to unlocking memories and familiarity with a title. DDO has such distinct sounds, and it wasn’t long before they were triggering a flood of feels.

I have no idea how many people play DDO these days, but I think I might spend a little time finding that out and seeing if a brand-new character can find any company for some of these dungeon runs. There has been so much content and so many features added to the game since I last played in, oh, 2010 or so that I imagine that I’d be set for most of the summer if this was something I really wanted to do.

For now, I’m going to bash some skeletons, see if I can find my machine-gun crossbow again, and have a lighthearted fling with a former friend.

8 thoughts on “DDO: Gnomes, noises, noses, and nostalgia

  1. DataShade June 19, 2017 / 1:13 pm

    Welcome back, Syp!

  2. DDOCentral June 19, 2017 / 1:25 pm

    You clicked on my DDO Wiki link for Swashbuckler, didn’t you? 🙂

  3. DDOCentral June 19, 2017 / 2:21 pm

    If you are playing on Argonnessen or Wayfinder, I can add you to our Guild and you can use the airship.

  4. Amberscion June 19, 2017 / 10:28 pm

    I like the sound effects in DDO except for one. My character will grunt when hit, which is great and a reminder to take a glance at my health bar. But it will also grunt occasionally while swinging a weapon, and that blows. It gives false alarms for the damage taking grunts, and it makes the character seem like a weakling, having to expend a lot of effort swinging the sword that you know they can swing all day long without getting tired. The false alarm thing is the real issue of course, the other thing is just annoying.

  5. solidd June 21, 2017 / 12:17 pm

    What about Marvel Heroes? You used to play that (and blogged about it). Have you played since the BUE?

  6. solidd June 21, 2017 / 12:18 pm

    Sorry that comment lacked context, I was referring to your line “all I really want at this point is one game that will grab me, keep my interest, and give me plenty of goals.”

  7. Syp June 21, 2017 / 7:23 pm

    I haven’t Solidd — it’s on my list of games to go back and check out at some point. It was fun, but Diablo-style games have a problem with staying power for me.

Leave a Reply

