Is Super NES Classic a dream come true?

Coming back to town after a four-day trip, I was excited to see that Nintendo finally announced the much-expected Super NES Classic console for this fall. After the runaway success of the NES Classic (we won’t go into grousing about the shortages and why I still do not have one), it made total sense.

So here’s the rundown: $80, 21 games, longer controller cords, coming September 29. It’s $20 more than the NES Classic and has five fewer titles, but it’s SNES, so it kind of balances out a bit. Naturally, I’m insanely pleased and excited, as the SNES is my all-time favorite console (one that I own in many formats, including a handheld version). And the big surprise announcement of StarFox 2 as a pack-in, a game that had never been released, is definitely thrilling.

Let’s look at the lineup:

  • Contra III: The Alien Wars
  • Donkey Kong Country
  • EarthBound
  • Final Fantasy III
  • F-ZERO
  • Kirby Super Star
  • Kirby’s Dream Course
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
  • Mega Man X
  • Secret of Mana
  • Star Fox
  • Star Fox 2
  • Street Fighter II Turbo: Hyper Fighting
  • Super Castlevania IV
  • Super Ghouls ’n Ghosts
  • Super Mario Kart
  • Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars
  • Super Mario World
  • Super Metroid
  • Super Punch-Out!!
  • Yoshi’s Island

OK, so let me put this out there: This is a great selection. They definitely chose well for the most part, getting in a lot of classics and genres. Street Fighter 2 is one of the best fighting games on the system, Contra 3 is always a crowd pleaser, Mario Kart is a classic, Super Castlevania is one of my all-time favorites, and so on. The only ones I’m a little iffy on are EarthBound (I know it’s a cult hit but I have never been truly into it) and the two Kirby games. Think we could have taken those down to one Kirby game and something else.

My only gipe is that this list is missing two of the absolute best games for the system: Chrono Trigger and Zombies Ate My Neighbors. (There’s also no sports games other than Punch-Out, which is weird.) Squaresoft is well-represented, as are RPGs, but no Chrono Trigger? That’s such a glaring omission that it boggles the mind. I’d rather have substituted it for Earthbound or Secret of Mana. Or heck, Super Ghouls ‘n Ghosts. That’s kind of a dud too.

Still, I’m thrilled that Super Mario RPG, Super Metroid, Star Fox, and the rest are here. My only hope is that, unlike last year, I’ll actually be able to get my hands on one of these consoles. A pre-order system would be ideal, I think.

The SNES had so many incredible games that I could easily see a follow-up console with just as many great titles. I hope Nintendo will do that in 2018 instead of, say, N64 Classic.

3 thoughts on “Is Super NES Classic a dream come true?

  1. Minimalistway June 27, 2017 / 1:34 pm

    I wasn’t planning on buying one, now i saw a zelda game in the list?! good choice for the games, i prefer 16-bit era games to the older 8-bit games, so i’ll probably buy this.

  2. tithian June 28, 2017 / 6:29 am

    Keep your hype levels low, because you know Nintendo will fuck this up by releasing too few consoles, most of which will be sniped and put in eBay for triple the normal price.

Leave a Reply

