LOTRO: Walking into Rohan

Life with Bingo Boffin in LOTRO is always an adventure. Sometimes an incredibly dumb adventure, as you start to wonder if this legendary Hobbit tenacity and pluck is only due to everyone feeling sorry for these small folk and babysitting them relentlessly. This guy would have died sixteen times over by now, if not for me. Don’t think he’s ever helped in a fight, either. But he does rock that sun hat, so…

Anyway, I’m not quite at the finish line of the Bingo Boffin quests, but I can faintly see it on the horizon. Our slow and meandering road trip across Middle-earth has finally turned south into Rohan, where Bingo decided that he would rather walk across than ride. After all, how big could it be?

Biting back obvious jokes about the wisdom of avoiding the new mounted combat system, I slowly followed Bingo into the country. Just crossing the bridge took about five minutes, with his running commentary turning from optimistic to somewhat despondent. I’ll admit, I saw it coming but it was pretty funny anyway.

“I’ll be right there, just after I stop hallucinating 20-foot-tall talking eagles!”

“I see that you are slow-roasting your horse over an open flame. We are both observant.”

Turning our attention to this fall’s expansion, I’m not totally ignoring anything about Mordor, but I’m not exactly pouring over every detail either. It looks pretty solid and I’m sure that there will be plenty of content to work through. I hope the story and rewards will be downright gripping, because I’m not exactly looking forward to the dull and oppressive landscape. I mean, good on the devs for including at least one zone with trees and sun, but for the most part it’s going to be an autumn full of lava flows and grungy rocks. Setting appropriate, yes, but there’s a reason why Angmar isn’t the most popular of zones in the game.

Obviously — and I so shouldn’t have to say it on this blog — I am not going to roll a High Elf. I probably will encounter mouth dryness from all of the involuntary spitting when I see an even more snobby species of these insufferable creatures. And to be honest, I think it’s sketchy to even include them. They’re not really going to look much different than current elves, and other than an expanded class lineup and some slightly better racials, they won’t be offering much more than we have. But I guess that’s what the team had to work with. I still want to play as an Ent with my 10% walking speed. One quest would take a week!

Once Bingo Boffin is done, I’ll turn my attention to fleshing out my virtues. I wasn’t super-concerned about them before, but going into Mordor, I’m going to want all of the edge I can get. Plus, it’s another goal and something to do to fill out the summer months.

One thought on “LOTRO: Walking into Rohan

  1. professorbeej July 6, 2017 / 9:09 am

    The way you feel about Mordor is exactly what pushed me from WoW into FFXIV recently. The Legion content was great, but the rocks and green lava was just too much when it was the Broken Shore, the Tomb of Sargeras raid, and then the upcoming Argus patch and zone. I just couldn’t take it anymore.

    I hope that LOTRO does more to spice up Mordor, like you said. Even a couple spots where you spend the time breaking up the monotony can go a long way. I love the aesthetic for a while (GW2 really hooked me with their lava zones), but after a bit, they wear really thin on me.

Leave a Reply

