Looking at Secret World Legends’ roadmap

Last Friday, Funcom finally posted its promised post-launch roadmap for Secret World Legends, giving players an idea of how it will be reinstating TSW content and then proceeding after that. Here’s the condensed version:

  • July – Elite dungeons (out already)
  • July – Remainder of Transylvania missions
  • July/August – Whispering Tide event
  • August – Tokyo part 1, lair mega-bosses
  • September – Tokyo part 2, Orochi Tower, NYC raid
  • October – Halloween event
  • December – Winter event
  • Late 2017/early 2018 – Dark Agartha, agent missions, new story region

First of all, let me say that I am having an absolute blast in this game so far — much more than I had anticipated. The reduction of the time-to-kill on mobs and the general enthusiasm over the relaunch has kept me logging in night after night, even though I’ve done all of this several times before. I’m up to my neck in Blue Mountain, so hopefully sometime this week I’ll make the jump over to Egypt.

I’m also pleased, of a sort, that the studio got this roadmap out. Like most everything with this launch, it should’ve been done weeks ago, but at least it’s here and we have an idea of how the next half-year or so is going to go. So what do we have?

Well, right now SWL is in an odd place where it is catching up with itself — that is, re-implementing content that The Secret World had already before its “retirement” and the reboot. So while I’m sure PR is going to herald this roadmap as a “wow, look at all of the stuff we’re doing for the game!” I see it as “wow, look how much you didn’t have ready for the relaunch last month!”

At least it looks like we’ll be caught up, so to speak, by the end of September, which isn’t too bad. And I know that the maps and some missions are requiring revamps, not to mention the reworked AEGIS system, so I’ll acknowledge that it isn’t merely copying data over.

For me personally, this content rollout should do just fine. I’m not going to find myself racing into a content wall for a while, and the task of getting through Tokyo and gearing my character up through epic dungeons will most likely take most of the fall. That’s just as well, because what we all really wanted to know — what NEW stuff is coming — isn’t going to be here for a while yet.

Funcom was definitely cagey about the new-new info, but we do know a few things we didn’t before. There’s going to be some sort of WoW garrison/SWTOR crew skill agent assignment system, which is the sort of thing I actually like as long as it doesn’t get too spammy. Dark Agartha sounds really intriguing, but I’m not quite sure what it is. Dungeon? Quest? Community event? It’s very vague.

And then there’s this: “As a results of the events that ended at the top of the Orochi Tower, continue the main story mission and follow up on a lead which will send you on your way to a brand new country.”

YES. We’re getting a new region and a new story, which is partially why most of us vets are putting ourselves through the full game again. We want to see what happens next. But what is really interesting here is that initially Funcom posted “continent” and then changed it to “country.”

Why does that matter? There are pretty much three accepted theories as to where we are going next: the Congo, South America, or Antarctica (with the Moon being a distant fourth). If it’s a new continent, then Africa was ruled out as an option, because we already went to Egypt. But then they changed it, so now I’m thinking the Congo or mid-Africa region is much more of a possibility. I am rooting for Antarctica myself, but we’ll see.

3 thoughts on “Looking at Secret World Legends’ roadmap

  1. Minimalistway July 10, 2017 / 10:50 am

    I’m having so much fun in the game i forgot other games! the change is working for me at least and for the same reason, combat is not tedious anymore, i don’t feel a dread when i have to run into monster infested area.

    I reached a point where i’m going to spend money in the game, buying speed boost and weapon upgrades, this means for the first time i’m enjoying a free to play MMO to the point of buying stuff from the game.

  2. tithian July 11, 2017 / 5:39 am

    Yeah, the continent bit implied Antarctica at first (for me), but when they changed it to country that probably means Congo.

Leave a Reply

