WoW: The power of memory

So here’s an interesting little story that’s happened to me this past week. I was on Facebook the other day, enjoying the nonsensical stream of posts, links, and random thoughts from my network of friends and associates and “how do I know this person?” when I saw a notice come up from a very old World of Warcraft Christian guild that I used to belong to back in the Wrath of the Lich King days. Again, very old.

I clicked on post, because I was amazed that it was even still around. As I read the activity, I got encouraged to see their continued existence and vibrant activity, and before you knew it, I went to that server in question and pinged the guild leader to say hi. I remembered this guild vaguely because it was one of the very few Horde guilds to which I belonged, where I had a level 80 Tauren Druid stomping about named Echoes.

Well not only did the GM say howdy back, he actually remembered me from seven years ago and greeted me by my actual first name. He’s a high school teacher, he says, so that’s why he’s good with names, but I work with kids and I barely remember my own offspring’s names on any given day, so I think it’s more than just an occupational skill. Obviously, I was impressed and pleased to be remembered, and a little ashamed that I didn’t recall very much about this guild in return (again, it was seven years ago, so that’s the excuse I’m sticking with).

I took it as a sign of sorts and got drawn into creating a new Undead Warlock (my 237th to date, if anyone’s keeping track) to hang out with them a bit, if only in chat. Not a lot in common that a level 15 and a level 110 has in this game. But I’m having fun, in my own little ways, exploring the post-Cataclysm world from the Horde point of view, running the occasional dungeon as DPS,

I have really enjoyed exploring more of the Forsaken as a culture. If I could go back in time to the very start of my journey with WoW, I think I would advise myself to roll and stick with the Undead as a race. To me, it’s the most interesting of all of the Horde races, although I’ve often had a problem with the visuals of bones jutting out of the armor models, breaking up their designs. But I’m kind of getting past that now — and past the fact that there’s some zombie elf lady in charge of us all — to revel in the Halloween nature of the faction. Plagues for all! ALL!

I’m also starting to learn that over on the Horde side, it’s still about 80% Blood Elves. I get that they’re probably the most good-looking in terms of human-like models, but it’s a bit extreme even so. I ran Deadmines the other day and I was the only non-Blood Elf in the group. It was a bunch of preening fashion models and me, a decaying, shambling fool trying to keep up. Felt like high school all over again.

Having gone through the first 15 levels a few times these past couple of months in World of Warcraft, I will say that these are among the slowest and most agonizing of levels in the game to experience, especially if you’re coming from an endgame character. The lack of mount makes going anywhere a chore, and the miserly parceling out of skills means that attacking at the beginning is so dull and repetitive. As a Warlock, I didn’t even get my pet until level 6, and it wasn’t until level 10 that I had two DoTs and the pet to make combat bearable. Doesn’t sound like much, but that’s still a couple of long hours right there.

I’ll be going Affliction, at least for the time being, because it doesn’t look like Demonology is any less annoying to use than it was a few months ago. Once again, I really miss how classes were in Draenor. Legion “class fantasies” ended up ruining so many of the specs that I enjoyed, such as Demo Lock (with my Terrorguard), Enhancement Shammy (with my pets), and BM Hunter (with a much more interesting rotation). But that’s the WoW life — you adjust to Blizzard devs’ crazy handling or you just go away.

2 thoughts on “WoW: The power of memory

  1. Bryan McLain (@thestealthpoet) July 17, 2017 / 2:13 am

    Hey Syp! Thanks for the shout out! We’re still kicking. I do my best to try to remember people because I think of this as a ministry to gamers. The Fish and Bread Trick is happy to have you back! 😀

Leave a Reply

