LOTRO: Goodbye Bingo Boffin, hello virtue grind!

As the saying goes, all good things must come to an end. Actually, “endings” in MMORPGs are not as common as in other games, as we’re used to the adventure (and the road) going ever on. But after 52 installments of Bingo Boffin’s journey, it was finally time to draw his story to a definite end.

The final part took the form of a dinner party in which Bingo invited neighbors and all of the friends he made over the course of his travels, providing a fitting epilogue, a few laughs, and even a reunion of Hobbit cultures that were previously separated. We also got to see just how much Bingo has grown over the year and how he turned into somewhat of a skillful diplomat.

The dinner party bit was a nice bookend to how the whole chain started, and I really liked the quiet moment when Bingo reflected on his travels with you in the foyer. “Every adventure comes to an end someday,” he said, but there wasn’t a lot of regret there. Bingo satisfied his urge to explore and see the wider world, and he’s brought more than a bit of that home with him.

While there were parts of the chain that were more time-consuming, boring, or annoying than others, overall Bingo Boffin’s quest is a wonderful addition to the game and a great alternative to the “real” epic quest. I especially recommend it if you like fluffy items as rewards, such as cosmetics, housing decor, and pets. I’m swimming in the latter two, and I really need to take an evening to work on my home so I can clear up some inventory space.

Now that we’re weeks, if not days, away from Mordor opening up, it’s time to prepare for the expansion. For me, this means first of all making a new outfit! I love the Bartleby backpack and worked an adventurer’s outfit around that. While I have plenty of pets, I’m making it my thing to pull out squirrels in any MMOs that let me. Love my white squirrely here as a tribute to Squirrel Girl.

Next up is to flesh out my virtue roster. I made a list of how many points I need to bring each to 21 (that being the new cap when Mordor launches) and took an hour or two to cross-reference my deed log with LOTRO Wiki to figure out which deeds I needed to do. I really wish there was a better way to organize this in-game, but oh well. Here’s what I ended up with:

There’s a lot of slayer deeds in there, alas, but I do have several slayer accelerators in my bank, so I’ll try to make the best use of those. Hopefully it won’t be too bad and I’ll be able to get most of these done by launch day.

By the way, SSG, I’m really OK with you delaying the expansion to late August to get in some more testing. July 31st feels too fast, too rushed for what needs to be a homerun release. There’s no rush here!

2 thoughts on “LOTRO: Goodbye Bingo Boffin, hello virtue grind!

  1. Triski July 18, 2017 / 12:02 pm

    You mentioned being sad to see Willem Whisker stay behind with his family at the end of one of the earlier Bingo quests.

    I’m happy to say that you can see Willem sleeping peacefully in front of the oven-hearths in the Hall of Fire in Rivendell whenever you like!

    I don’t know if that’s just for people who’ve completed the whole quest chain or not, but he’s there for me on all the ones who went through the whole story.

  2. Rufus T Firefly July 21, 2017 / 11:49 am

    There is a VirtueView by Moby on Lotrointerface….I think this is what you are looking for. Anyway, I use it on my main(s) to quickly see what is available and what I have done….it takes some time to check off virtues youve already done & remember to check off as you do them, but its as easy as setting up your own system so why not use it?

    http://www.lotrointerface.com/downloads/info720-VirtueView.html

Leave a Reply

