10 little things I wish they’d change in LOTRO

Ten years in, and I’m still finding this game as lovely and photogenic as ever!

But of course, there are always those “little” things we’d change about the game if we could. I’m sure the team has its hands full, usually in creating and testing new content, but I always hope that sooner or later some old issues would be addressed. In talking with my kin lately, we were going back and forth on little things we wish that would get changed or fixed or added. Here’s a list of my personal wishes:

  1. I wish there was a way to resize the quest box text to be larger (without resizing the whole UI). There’s always so much of it, and on larger monitors and resolutions, it’s more difficult to read now than it used to be. Of course, I could be getting older too…
  2. Daily login rewards have gotten stale — could we get some new ones? Housing items perhaps?
  3. A better way to track and organize your deeds, especially if you’re pursuing particular virtues.
  4. Token exchange — we get SO many tokens in this game, it’d be nice to trade the ones we don’t want for the ones we do. Maybe at a 2:1 ratio?
  5. If I’m wearing headphones and they’re plugged in and I load up the game, LOTRO — unlike every other MMO I play — stubbornly defaults to the speaker instead. Then I have to manually change that. It’s annoying and I wish the game would auto-detect and use my headphones if plugged in.
  6. Get rid of those really screechy ambient sounds in Angmar. Seriously.
  7. Give individual characters the option to own their own house (outside of premium housing).
  8. More than five quests/deeds on the quest tracker? It’s 2017, I think it’s possible to make this happen.
  9. More hairstyles. Better hairstyles. I’m glad for the avatar upgrades and all, but the hair is mostly too chunky and weird to use.
  10. A random mount/random pet button. Love this other games, would adore it in LOTRO.
6 thoughts on “10 little things I wish they’d change in LOTRO

  1. Wilhelm Arcturus August 21, 2017 / 12:35 pm

    I was just thinking the other week, “Why doesn’t LOTRO let you set “use default output device” as an option?” Instead it lists all possible outputs supported by the sound card on my motherboard, one of which is hooked up to something, three of which are not, along with the driver for my headphones, but only if I plugged the USB connector in before I launched LOTRO.

    Also, a less awkward dismount button would be nice, though I do enjoy the way my characters tumble sprawling across the landscape when they are forcibly dismounted. And the giant round auto-attack button could stop hogging real estate on the control bar too if we’re going after buttons. Might leave enough space to expand the hot bar buttons so they are decipherable. They would still be nonsensically bad, but at least you might have a chance to make rhyme or reason out of them.

  2. Tomeoric August 21, 2017 / 1:41 pm

    (2) Noooooo! No more housing items. They already made housing item vaults (aka premium housing) since there are so many items to store. Housing areas are still ghost towns.

    (3) Yes, yes.

    (4) A thousand times yes.

    I’d also add:

    (A) A trait point tracker. Ridiculous not knowing where to get these or what the cap is, etc.

    (B) Completionist / lost-quest tracker. Similar to the deed tracking, a way to track down quests for zones that have not been completed or started.

  3. Tanek August 21, 2017 / 1:48 pm

    Agreed on most of this list. I don’t know if I trust how Standing Stone would handle each character being allowed a basic house, though. I’m imagining it would be some manner of disaster.

    The one thing I really want at the moment is a way to turn off the “Legendary item has leveled up” alert. Keep the alert about needing a reforge, but seriously, I DO NOT need to be told every time one of my many slotted items gets a new level!

  4. Redbeard August 21, 2017 / 11:32 pm

    The occasional intake of breath when travelling through Angmar still gives me the creeps.

  5. baldwinp August 22, 2017 / 8:44 am

    Regarding number 5, I have had that issue in the past. I believe the solution is that, in addition to having previously set your in-game audio to headphones, you have to have your headphones plugged in when you boot your computer. It will default to the speakers if you plug in your headphones at any point later. So, I just leave my headphones plugged in all the time and do not have the problem.

Leave a Reply

