Posted in Lord of the Rings Online

LOTRO: A Trip to Bag End

Bag End is perhaps one of the most iconic fantasy homes of all time.  In LOTR and The Hobbit, it functions much like taverns do in many a D&D tale: a launching point for a greater story, a meeting place for a party of adventurers, a place of exposition and groundwork.

I’m a bit ashamed that I never knew before a couple weeks ago that you could enter Bag End in LOTRO, although perhaps you could forgive me this.  There’s no quest directing you inside, no NPCs indoors, just a little green door among a whole zone of little green doors.

So before Syp the Burglar left the Shire for good, I thought I’d pay homage to Bilbo and Frodo by giving Bag End a tour.  The current owner, Lobelia Sackville-Baggins, didn’t seem to mind as I slipped past her.

Here’s a map from the book version of Bag End:

What’s interesting is just how faithful LOTRO is to this map.  Although you can’t explore ALL of Bag End (there are crates and piles of furniture in the middle of the hallway halfway through), you can peruse the first half to your heart’s delight, and that’s where anything of note already is.

The front of Bag End, including the little round green door that was one of the first things described in The Hobbit.
The front hallway. Bag End as a whole is dimly lit and gives off a feeling of abandonment. At this point in the story, Frodo has sold it off to his relatives, but odds and ends remain.
A certain open book in Bilbo's study looks VERY familiar...
The kitchen. Like most of the rooms, it's cold and quiet, although I love the little blue glow of the hobbit window.
Either the parlor or the drawing room -- in either case, the most cozy room of the house, with a fire still crackling. It's here, most likely, that Gandalf threw the One Ring into the fire to reveal its lettering.
The same room, looking at it from the fireplace. I love the shadows cast here, and the books spread everywhere.

4 thoughts on “LOTRO: A Trip to Bag End

  1. I stumbled across Bad End myself not long ago. It’s been ages since I read the books, so I had to take their word on its accuracy. But wow, there’s something really cool about being able to walk through somewhere you’ve spent hours in reading imagining yourself. I got the same kind of feeling when I first saw the statues of the kings in Evendim.

    If you’re into this kind of thing though, check out The Road Goes Ever On. It’s a wonderful screen capture chronicling of the events in the book through the game– with footnotes and all. It looks like the author gave up on it back in November but what’s there is really impressive.

  2. There is definitely something special about walking around places you’ve previously encountered in books, or in TV programmes or films.

    I felt the same when flying around DS9 in Star Trek Online, and then wandering around the Promenade and Quark’s Bar inside.

    (Syp: your recent articles are general praise are, in part, what have tempted me to try LOTRO for the first time. So far, I’m enjoying it – and the Shire is indeed very pretty).

Leave a comment