24 thoughts on “Poll: Your gut reaction to WoW’s latest expansion news

  1. In between psyched and “wait and see”. I really loved the scenery that I saw and I really love that they’re adding Pandaren (never got far in Warcraft 3 but I do know about the Brewmaster hero). Other than that, I’m mostly “wait and see” because I’m not subscribed to WoW anymore and I’m not sure that this will get me back (especially if it releases after GW2).

  2. ….

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA *breathes* Ahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha… *wipes a tear* Phew.

  3. The video segment where a group of pandas perform sync’ed kung fu moves looks like an April Fools joke. Like a video that makes fun of the game, not markets the upcoming expansion.

    On the other hand, I’m a fan of monks are martial artists, I love that class in DDO.

  4. So far, none of their announcments have really said to me “I want to play this again”
    but then again, they’ve only really just showed us a bunch of bullet points.
    New class and new race is all right, but we’ve seen it before, even the reworking of the talents (although it said NEW TALENT SYSTEM which may be they’re reworking how talents work totally). The only really NEW things were the Pokemon battle pets and that’s not going to get me playing, and the PvE Scenarios, which, as a title, isn’t very descriptive, although it’s something to watch for.

  5. Since there isn’t an ‘other’ or a ‘meh’ option, I’m skipping voting and posting:

    Meh.

  6. Well, first off, I really don’t care. I only ever played WoW for three months, it’s the only Blizzard game I’ve ever played and I have zero emotional investment. I also don’t find pandas cute and have no special attachment to martial arts tropes in general or monks in particular.

    On the other hand, my ears pricked up at the “melee healer” part. Vanguard’s Disciple is my single favorite class in any MMO ever, so if WoW adds something like that I might just take a look.

  7. Big meh here.

    Its not like WoW had any real lore to begin with (with apologies to red shirt guy). Why shouldn’t they throw in a few Pandas? Heck give the Pandas light sabres for all I care.

  8. I’m somewhere between “meh” and wait and see… I think the pet battles & pve scenarios are interesting (though the scenarios sound like a counterstrike to public quests), but overall it seems really weak for an expansion. Who’s the bad guy this go around? Or is there one?

    Plus, the descriptions of the new npc races sounds a bit… kiddish. monkey-people? fish-people? more insects? eh.

  9. Trying to cater to China? Only thing I can figure. Or purposely trying to kill off WoW to make room for other games.

  10. I’m psyched. The talent tree revamp looks incredibly promising, and is exactly the direction I wish they had gone in Cataclysm. I’m looking forward to jumping into the Asian-themed Pandaria. I find the introduction of Pokemon fascinating: another mini-game/something to do during downtime, another path of progression, something everyone can do together, and so forth. PvE scenarios? Challenge Mode? Exactly the sort of things people have been asking for, it seems to me: something to do at max level besides the usual dungeon grind.

    And there’s so much more. I’ve played WoW probably a total of 3 months over the past couple of years, and this BlizzCon has me seriously nerding out. 🙂

  11. Yeah, *this* time they will succeed at making the perfect talent tree. After they “failed” like three times before.

    “failed”, because all of these talent trees were good and the next ones are probably good as well. This is just developers developing something for themselves. This is has nothing to do with the players.

  12. Actually, I think this is part of something much broader than “the developers developing something for themselves.” In general, developers seem to be moving on from WoW’s original talent tree concept. It added a lot of complexity, yet wasn’t really working as a customization tool. The Cataclysm talent tree revamp worked to an extent, in that it managed to reduce complexity while ever so slightly boosting customization, but the fundamental flaws remained.

    So WoW is following in the footsteps of D3, SC2, and GW2, to varying degrees. It has been chained to that original talent tree concept for a long time, but no longer. I’m pretty confident it was far more trouble than it was worth.

    And as someone that has seen a lot of QQ about the Cataclysm talent tree system, I’m also pretty confident that the players played a role in the developer’s decision. 😉

    A couple more interesting changes: making resilience a baseline stat that increases as people level should make it much easier to jump into PvP, and I’m looking forward to some achievements being account-wide.

  13. I went with wait and see really only because there wasn’t a I don’t give a crap option. I don’t think they jumped the shark since I believe there were panda’s in the lore but I just don’t care about wow anymore.

  14. Did not vote, since there was no “I don’t care really” option.

    No emotional investment in that game and don’t know much about that expansion anyway.

  15. Why do so many people hate on WoW? All I ever read lately is how no one plays anymore and they don’t like the direction the game is heading. And yet, no one offers specific details. Honestly, I’m just curious because I still play the game and don’t play any other MMO’s.

  16. Nice strawman there Opaug. Your assuming players hate WoW because they are highly critical of it. What evidence do you have that they actually hate WoW?

    It’s more likely there’s players who liked myself who played WoW for a long time and loved it, and now we’re see’ing it go off the rails. Perhaps our cries are in hopes that some sane developer who may put it back on those rails. (Incidently, this stratergy is working for EVE…when CCP realized they hit bottom with it.) So this should not be taken as a hate on…more of a lamenting.

    @Nils.

    I completely agree. There is nothing really wrong with their current tree system other than being too restrictive. And all they had to for that was take out the restrictions that prevented players from adding specs from other trees until they hit 31 IMO, thus improving on it…

    …because the more hybridization there’s allowed…the less likely there is cookie cutting, since there’s so much more options available. Just ask RIFT about that. But their arguement at the time of the spec restrictions was for “balance.” But once again, it appears RIFT has blown that concern straight out of the water as well. So really there’s no excuse for this. It’s simply just comes down to “if it isn’t broken, why replace it?”

  17. Utakata, I never said players hate WoW, I said many people “hate on” WoW, which is another term for being highlly critical. The evidence is all over forums, not to mention the significant drops in subs. Please don’t twist what I’m saying for the sake of trolling. I was asking a geniune question to other people out there that play other MMO’s and how they compare those MMO’s to the state of WoW at the moment.

  18. Baloney Opaug. There is nothing wrong with being highly critical of this game or any other game. I also have reread your comment, and I did not twist anything you had to say. It still reads that you have issues with individuals who criticize WoW….

    …but since you are indicating I was trolling when I wasn’t, I have nothing further to say on this matter. You think how you want to think. /thread

  19. Utakata, you are creating a red herring. I wasn’t arguing the fact that people are hating on WoW, I was stating that as a fact, as you even admit to, that people are highly critical of the game. I hear the critism, what I was asking all along was for specific reasons why people are; not resubbing, complaining “in general” about the game, and why so many changes are being made to the game. It is a fact, people are staying away from the game. The proof is in the subscription totals. You say there is nothing wrong with being highly critical of this game. I didn’t say there was anything wrong.

    You are completely missing the point to my post, and making blanket statements in response to my post is why I consider your response a troll.

    What specific reasons are there to stray away from the game? I think they have made some great improvements, and I’ve been playing since “vanilla”…

  20. To all those voting “meh” and “don’t care”…why did you even feel it was necessary to comment in the first place. Do you have nothing better to do than comment on subjects you have no interest in? (rhetorical question)

Leave a comment