Posted in WildStar

Wildstar: No name for you!

nothingGraphic by Tom!

It’s a small thing, being able to reserve your name, but it’s important too.  Especially to those who paid money up-front to be able to do so.

This WildStar name reservation thing has just become an ongoing fiasco of poor website design and planning.  The reservations were supposed to start at 2 (EST) but the website borked so hard that Carbine took a two-hour lunch break to try to fix it.  Then 4pm came around and it was even worse.  The page barely worked, and at least for me did absolutely squat.

It’d ask me to click to login.  Then to reserve.  Then it did nothing.  Once, only once, did I get the name reservation popup, but that broke and it didn’t save.  Carbine tweeted asking for patience, because, y’know guys, lots of people like our game!  But overreactions aside, why should we be patient?  Someone messed up really bad on this from the tech side, and now we’re getting the pleasure of watching a community freak out by most not being able to reserve names while some can and make the rest feel like crud.

I’m looking forward to WildStar, but man this does not give me a lot of confidence as to how their tech team can handle the crunch of players.  I mean, guys, it’s a form.  It’s one word.  What happens when it’s launch day?

13 thoughts on “Wildstar: No name for you!

  1. Yeah I haven’t had any luck either. Instead of making a basic, lightweight web form they put all this fancy CSS crap in there and it just won’t load because the servers are dying. The closest I came to getting something done was by disabling all the styles on the page; that at least revealed a “Name” field, but I still couldn’t get it to submit.

  2. Well, the Federal Government couldn’t figure it out either. Now I’m not chomping at the bit to reserve a name in Wildstar, but I wonder yet again, why more companies don’t go the @handle route, like Cryptic and, more recently, Zenimax have done? Non-unique character names = no rush to reserve said names.

  3. 7 hours later and I still can’t get it to work. I get the maintenance screen every time I log in :-/
    I would have preferred they didn’t have name reservations in the first place to be honest—this fiasco is just making it all that much worse.

  4. Love the photo omg rofl. I got in today to finally reserve it and it did save. But the exception handler doesn’t work right. It displays error messages from the previous name you chose until you proc another message. Also, if you click save enough times it will ignore the error message and accept your name anyway. However it won’t ACTUALLY save when the 60 minutes are up. It gave me the last name that didnt throw an error.

  5. There was a another photoshopped picture with a single finger.. that was pointing up. It also brought giggles.

    I got a name to reserve! I waited until dinner. Unfortunately, it was the WRONG name. I typed one in, it worked! I clicked edit, and typed in another one, and it worked! Well, it SAID it worked. It really didn’t. The timer and countdown only did the first one.

    Now I have a reserved name I know not what to do with. Does anyone want to buy the name “Syp” off of me for WildStar?

    =P

Leave a comment