Posted in Dungeons & Dragons Online, Month of

The Month of DDO: Roll d20 to install

dndWelcome to a new feature-slash-experiment here at Bio Break, the “Month of” series!  The idea for this came to me about a month ago, when I was wrestling with two thoughts:

1. I have more — more — than enough MMOs to play right now, but it’s been mostly about four titles (LOTRO, WildStar, Guild Wars 2, and TSW) for a good while both here on Bio Break and in my own gaming life.

2. I always yearn to be playing many other games, but don’t really have the time to do them.

So the notion came to me to devote a month to casually exploring an MMO that’s not part of my main roster.  Maybe it’s an old favorite, one I only briefly played, or a fresh game.  I would provide added incentive to doing this by blogging about my adventures over the span of a month.  However, I didn’t want to overcommit in terms of time, so it’s a “whenever I can make room” type of deal.  Maybe I’ll play a couple times a week or so, but hopefully by the end of the month I will have gotten more in than what I could’ve experienced in a dedicated night or two.

My first pick is Dungeons & Dragons Online, for a couple reasons.  First, it was an old favorite of mine and nostalgic memories have been trickling in about it as of late for no good reason.  Second, DDO’s pumped out two expansions since I last played, both of which had a lot to do with a new campaign setting, and I have access to both.  So why not roll up a new character to check out Forgotten Realms and see how DDO’s been doing since I last left?

I’ll admit that I’m a little nervous pulling the trigger on this experiment.  If it goes well, this could lead into many more “Month of” series.  But I’d hate to publicly start this and then wimp out midway through or find myself feeling obligated to play something I don’t like.  I think it’ll be OK, since I’m not going to pressure myself into hitting any sort of /played hours.  Just loading it back up and seeing where it takes me, with the escape hatch coming no matter what on August 31st.

4 thoughts on “The Month of DDO: Roll d20 to install

  1. That is similar reason to why I started my blog with class challenges, it allowed me to dip my toes into a variety of mmo’s and discover what they felt like for a new player – I tried to turn off my past experiences and soak in the actual game you enter into.

    A month is a brave move, especially in DDo which I only had scathing reviews for!

    good luck Syp 🙂

  2. I actually just finished downloading DDO a couple of days ago; after getting my Cappy to 100 and being severely underwhelmed by the latest update I think I’m going to roll up a new character in DDO. I imagine it’s still just as casual/solo-unfriendly as always, though?

Leave a comment