Posted in General

MMO Firsts: A Meme

firsts(Every time I see the word “meme”, I always think of little kids raising their hands in school and going “me!me!me!”  Am I alone on this?)

Because it’s my first official day back to work since my son was born, I’m going to go a bit easy on myself and do a complete fluff piece — while at the same time challenging other blogs and commentators to pick it up and answer it themselves.  This meme/survey is themed around “MMO Firsts”: first big memories for you in online role-playing games.

First MMO Played?

Anarchy Online

First Character Class/Role Played?

Adventurer/Hybrid

First MMO Subscribed For More Than A Consecutive Year?

City of Heroes

First MMO You Fell In Love With?

City of Heroes

First Guild You Really Felt Attached To?

Either Redeemed in LOTRO or Time Well Wasted in WoW… kind of a tie there.

First Character/Game You Leveled To End Cap?

Syp, my WoW warlock, who hit both 60 and 70 as personal firsts.

First “Wow” Moment In A MMO?

Either picking up the flight superpower in CoH or seeing the edge of Shadowlands in AO

First MMO You Burned Out On?

World of Warcraft, for sure… and several times after that.

First MMO You Followed Avidly Prior To Launch?

WoW, which I was tracking more than a year before its release.

First Time You Felt Truly Noobish In A MMO?

Having absolutely no idea where to put my points in my character in Anarchy Online and completely gimping him because of it.

First MMO You Went Alt-Crazy In?

City of Heroes.  Duh!

Leave a comment