Posted in Diablo 3

A day with Diablo 3

Diablo III, early test build.

So after my weird psudo-rant about watching the Diablo III launch week from the outside, I ended up with a copy of it yesterday (unexpectedly but not unwelcome, mind you).  So I put aside my normal MMO lineup for the evening and spent several hours getting acquainted with the latest in a series that I remember playing when I first moved to Michigan.  In 2000.

Honestly, it’s a pretty strong but not terribly revolutionary action RPG, and it goes down smoothly.  If you like killing lots of things quickly, watching big numbers happen, getting tons of lot, and exploring a haunted house of a world, then it’s right up your alley.  It’s got the trademark Blizzard polish, so everything handles nicely.  There was about a ten-second learning curve on all of the features, and that says something good about how intuitive the design is.  Even the new skill/rune setup is really simple to grasp, although I spent some time initially trying to figure out where the complexity came in (more on that in a bit).

I rolled a Witch Doctor (because zombies) and enjoyed the play while disliking the look of the character.  It’s interesting to me how unconventional most of the classes are in D3 versus most fantasy titles, and I appreciate that Blizzard was willing to at least make an attempt at providing something other than knight/ranger/priest, if only in name and outfit design.

Little touches improve D3 over what I remember of D2.  For instance, no more town portal scrolls (you just get a permanent skill) or identify scrolls (just right-click on unidentified objects).  The crafting system makes more sense to me than the weird cube thing of D2, you don’t have to click to pick up gold (just run near it), and the areas are pretty straight-forward to navigate.   Click click click, loot loot loot, level up.

I’ve heard people call it “kiddy WoW” (which is amusing as an oxymoron), and I can see that.  It feels like a stripped-down version of World of Warcraft, from the interface to the stats (should I feel insulted that the weapon DPS number is font size 96 so that I don’t miss it?) to the skillbar.

Initially, I really thought that there was no customization to be had apart from gear.  The game automatically grants you skills as you level up, and you can choose just one skill per category at any given time.  Later on, you start to get runes, which allow you to choose a skill variant, but again, only one of each.  Finally, there are passives, which is the closest thing the game has to a talent tree.  Taken separately, it feels like hand-holding, but all together it does have the promise of some interesting builds and combinations.  It made me think of League of Legends, how characters there only have a small handful of skills and yet that game is able to offer a huge amount of variety and complexity within that framework.

I do have two big complaints from the get-go.  The first is — as everyone else is saying — the sheer stupidity of not offering a non-DRM offline mode for a single-player game.  If Blizzard’s servers are down, and they were twice during the short time I was playing, you simply can’t play the game.  Blizzard’s taking a ton of heat over this and yet I can’t see the company admitting that this is a bad idea or that it should listen to its customers.  Nay, you’ll buy your Diablo III and then shut it while we count your cash!

“Requiring that players be online is one thing – but we are!  We’re online right now!  They’re the ones who aren’t online.  Who watches the watchmen?!?!” (Penny Arcade)

I hate DRM.  So much.

The second complaint came at the end of the night.  I was trying to be outgoing and jumped into a couple of groups with fellow bloggers B.J. and Tipa.  The multiplayer does work surprisingly well, it’s very pain-free to engage in, and I enjoyed it.  The problem came when I joined Tipa’s party, as the game sent me over to help her out with a quest I’d yet to do.  Fair enough, kill kill, I died a lot since I was underlevel for the area, but oh well.  But when I left, I noticed that the game “saved” my progress to her quest — I couldn’t go back to do the one I was working on originally.  I looked everywhere for a way to do this, but nothing doing.

Now, if this was my tenth playthrough or something, it wouldn’t be a problem.  But it was my first time through the game, and I wanted to actually see it all from the start to the end, including what little story there was.  I did not want the game to trick me into leapfrogging content just because I was grouping up.  So now I’m faced with either pretending as though my character got amnesia for three levels or rerolling.  I guess I’ll reroll; it was only three hours in, after all.

Update: Rohan was kind enough to inform me that I *can* roll back my quest progress, but I have to do so on the character login screen.  Big button and all that.  Thanks!

Anyway, I don’t see this taking the place of my MMOs, but it certainly is a nice distraction for when I want something more basic and simple.

12 thoughts on “A day with Diablo 3

  1. The button under ‘Resume Game’ (I forget exactly what it is–maybe Change Quest) will allow you to go back to an earlier quest.

  2. I saw someone mentioned the Change Quest button for going back to where you were at before it jumped you ahead. One more thing to note, there’s an Elective Mode option under the Gameplay section in the options menu. It will let you have multiple skill from one category and let you put any skill in any skill slot.

  3. I had the same issue last night after we grouped. I couldn’t figure out how to get it back to my original quest, and in addition to that, I think I somehow got the difficulty upscaled for me from a group because Act 2 was really eating me alive until I restarted the quest. Then all was well.

    Nothing major, and I’ve still had a ton of fun with it. I can definitely see how I can spend a lot of time there, so I have to be careful to make sure I’m productive elsewhere l, too.

  4. I’ve not bought it. I love Diablo but the DRM thing turned me right off as soon as I found out about it. Similar reason why I never bought Starcraft 2, loved the original but when they force you to play multiplayer over B.net, sorry, but I wanted to play LAN games with my friends and the building we use for that has no internet for us to use… I want to play my games on my terms (unless it’s an MMO of course).

  5. The bundling with BNet is what initially turned me off D3.

    I have no objections to needing an internet connection to play WoW (which I played for 5 years); it is an MMO after all. I really don’t even care that they force-merged WoW with BNet.

    I’m also prepared to tolerate (barely) needing Steam for Call of Duty:Black Ops, CoD:MW3, and MTG:Planeswalkers, even though I never multiplay any of them. I tolerate it, because if I desire I can go offline and still play every game in my Steam library.

    Can I do that with D3, which is a single-player game? Yes, it IS a single-player game. Just like Black Ops, MW3, and MTG:Planeswalkers. Just like D2 & D2:LoD. Diablo 3 is a single-player game with the option to multiplay. Except Blizzard apparently decided Diablo should not be a single-player game, even though it is, and that anyone who wants to play it as a single-player game is apparently “doing it wrong!”, even though they’re not.

    Their launch debacle, as pointed out by PA, only serves to illustrate further why it’s actually Blizzard themselves who are doing it wrong. Seriously? They didn’t anticipate massive demand on launch day? Riiiight.

    Additionally, as Tobold and many others have pointed out, the lack of BoP and the abundance of cheap Blue Items in the AH practically defeats the purpose of playing the game. Isn’t Diablo supposed to be about constantly slaughtering countless loot pinatas looking for gear upgrades so you can be strong enough to move onto the next area and slaughter more loot pinatas? Obviously not. Blizzard seem to have created a Diablo game where the objective is to kill monsters so you can get gold to buy gear so you can kill stronger monsters to get even more gold so you can buy even better gear to kill even stronger monsters…and so on.

    I was honest-to-God looking forward to Diablo 3. I saw the gameplay videos and thought it looked amazing. I loved it! I couldn’t wait for it to come out. I planned to buy two copies, a regular copy and a Collector’s Edition (for the Epic Lootz of course!) so my son and I could play together. Via our LAN of course. Just like we can do with D2 and D2:LoD.

    But then came the BNet-only fiasco.

    And now the AH apparently renders the game moot.

    And then there’s the situation experienced by you, Syp, where you chose to multiplay LIKE BLIZZARD WANT YOU TO except joining other players negatively affected your own experience.

    You helped out a friend and your own quest progression got fucked up. Yeah, you were able to resolve that…AT THE CHARACTER SELECT SCREEN!!!

    Was that really the only possible way to “fix” a bug which fucked up your quest progression when you multiplayed the game like Blizzard expect you to do? Log out, click a button, log back in again? Seriously??? That was their “fix”??? Talk about broken!

    HELLO??? BLIZZARD??? BIG FUCKING PROBLEM HERE WITH QUEST REVERSION AFTER A MULTIPLAY SESSION!!! HELLO??? IS THIS THING ON?

    LOLZ. Like Blizzard are actually going to listen to their customer base. I mean if they did, you would have actually been able to play D3 at launch, because you wouldn’t need to be online all the time. Amiright?

  6. Ummm, calm down there, JP1969….. Syp fixed his quest progression problem. Indeed, Blizz made it pretty darned easy to jump in with friends and then go right back to where you needed to be – or not, your choice. All the CAPS AND !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FOR A PROBLEM THAT DOES NOT EXIST IS KIND OF SILLY!@!!!!!!!@!#@@@!@!@!!!!!

    As for being online, well, yeah – that does kind of suck. But so what? You do not want to buy a game that requires being online to play? Don’t buy it! Problem solved! If enough people vote with their wallet, Blizz will change the practice. I would not hold your breath, however, given the sales numbers Blizz has been getting for Diablo III.

  7. ahhh interesting part about the rollback on the quests.. i was afraid of that when joining others. Playing verrrry slowly; if i see you in your teens (main/alts), ill send an invite 🙂

  8. It’s cool, Aerynne. I know I sound rather long winded and probably about to blow a gasket but that’s just me 🙂

    I also realize Syp also already “fixed” his problem, but the problem still technically exists, and that is that engaging in the multiplayer side of the game messes up your own quest progression. Yes, a fix does exist, but in order to get back to where you were prior to engaging in MP content you need to log out of that character, click a button, then log back in again. Seriously?

    Keep in mind that multiplayer was the very reason Blizz’s Devs espoused as to why D3 was an online-only game. No, it was not to combat Duping, Hacks, and Cheats. Blizz refused to acknowledge that particular problem. Instead they claimed the online-only BNet thing was so people wouldn’t level up a single-player, offline character (like they did with D2 and LoD) then get upset when they couldn’t take that character online with their friends. I’m sure that particular interview still exists somewhere. This IS the internet, after all. Nothing dies on the internet.

    So, that said, if I engage in multiplayer content, being the very reason the Devs claimed to make D3 an online-only game, then my single-player experience will break, and to “fix it” I’ll need to log out, and I have to do that every time I engage in MP content.. SERIOUSLY??? Come on. You know that warrants all caps. They’ve been working on this game for how long now, and they couldn’t fix a known quest reversion bug other than having the User logout, click a button, then log back in again? Seriously???

    As for not buying it, I agree with you there. I won’t buy it, and no, that doesn’t mean I’ll pirate it. I won’t buy it, I won’t play it, I won’t pirate it.

    And I don’t think I’m in the minority here. Well, maybe I am 😉 but we’re a large minority. Just look at the Metacritic scores and Amazon reviews D3 is getting. It’s taking a reaming over this. The vocal Internet minority has spoken, and we are not happy.

    Once again, wall of text. My apologies. But as I said that doesn’t mean I’m about to blow a gasket; it’s just me 🙂

    Cheers!
    Cap’n John (which is who I really am),

Leave a comment