Posted in Star Wars: The Old Republic

8 Star Wars Races That Should Be Jedi/Sith in The Old Republic

Forget hum-drum humans — here are 10 classic Star Wars races and critters that definitely should be a character creation option, after which they should shove a lightsaber in my hand and let me at it!

EwokJedi

1. Ewoks

Now, now, before your brain explodes and your mouth begins to rant on six days straight about what George Lucas did to ROTJ with these little muppet abominations, consider this — with only sticks, stones and a catchy melody, Ewoks were more than capable of holding their own against the might of the Empire’s crack troops.

Now, take that spear away and give them lightsabers and force choke?  There’s no power in the universe that could stop them.

rancor

2. Rancors

Jedi Rancors don’t bother with lightsabers, so I hear.  And they don’t have much patience for long, plodding deliberations of the Jedi counsel.  But when it comes to an all-you-can-eat enemy buffet?  They’re second to none.

huttjedi

3. Hutt

Despite having the upward mobility of snot, it still would be quite intimidating to see a giant snail coming at you with a laser sword.  And lo and behold, there actually is a Hutt who was a Jedi — Beldorion was his name, and he was almost solid muscle instead of Jabba’s obese flab.  Ironically, he was also killed by Leia.

ackbar

4. Mon Calamari

DUDE IF I CAN’T BE AN ACKBAR JEDI AND SCREAM “IT’S A TRAP!” EVERY TIME I’M IN GROUP, FORGET THIS GAME GARRRRRRRR!!!!!1!

JawaJedi1

5. Jawa

It’s my deep suspicion that the Jawa are actually incredibly talented Jedi masters who have clouded the minds of all who encounter them into thinking that they’re these harmless little desert scavengers.  In reality, they’ve been manipulating the Empire/Rebel conflict from Day One.

Sullustan_jedi

6. Sullustan

This is the race of guys that provided Lando with his chortling, visually disturbing co-pilot in Return of the Jedi.  And despite their lower face looking suspiciously of sliced deli meat, I know I’d play one for sure.  Of course, he’d be totally insane.

tauntaunopenbelly-catalog

7. Tauntaun

Okay, you know you’d totally play a Jedi Tauntaun if you discovered that they were the only race to shoot plasma lightning from those head tusks they have.  Plus, your friend is low on health and almost dead?  “Slice me open, man, and stay warm for the night.”  You’d be ALL SORTS of noble.

TAC31roronLI

8. Hammerhead

I don’t know much about this guy, other than he’s the coolest freaking Star Wars character ever, if only in terms of looks.  Give him a lightsaber and -ZWOW- he’s unstoppable!

20 thoughts on “8 Star Wars Races That Should Be Jedi/Sith in The Old Republic

  1. I might as well, you’ll get told anyway:

    Your last guy is an Ithorian, peace loving tree hugging types who were all kinds of Jedi’s back in the Old Republic, and who talk out of their two mouths in Stereo!

    Anyway, cool post Syp.

  2. How about the musicians in the cantina (ep4) who were playing those flute dealies. One minute, jazzing along just playing their song, the next whipping out the lightsabre to deal with the dastardly Sith.

  3. Great post…little scary, in that vain. I want a Sith lord Jar Jar, to take vengeance on everyone who said Jar Jar sucked. He was the most influential person in Episode 4/5. Without him Palpatine rise to power couldn’t of happen.

    “Nows I’s goings to kills you…”

    Or my choice is the Hutt Palace Guards, Pig Jedi is just cool.

  4. They finally allowed the Ithorian to be Jedi in Star Wars Galaxies, and you’re right: they looked awesome at it.

    I don’t think any of them actually come as close to being awesome as my Wookiee Jedi that I had on there pre-NGE, but my currently deactivated MonCal one kind of does, and I never played the Ithorian, but I would have if I didn’t already have the Wookiee.

  5. Hmm… R2-D2 painted up black & red like Darth Maul and given a light sabre…

    Sounds good to me.

  6. FWIW, I believe the TOR webcomic includes a Mon Cal Jedi, so I’m pretty sure you’re set for at least one of your wishes!

  7. LOL 🙂

    Ewoks? Hell yeah! Only hope there’s PvP in the game so I can slice them up 🙂

    Hutt? I would genuinelly like to play a Hutt actually. I like the big fat races in games. A Hutt Jedi would rock.

    Honestly, one race I think would be cool to see would be Chiss aka Grand Admiral Thrawn’s race.

  8. @Stropp: The band was “Figrin D’an and the Modal Nodes” and they’re Bith. I’m sure there have been some Bith jedi in the expanded Star Wars universe but I can’t think of any off the top of my head.

  9. Ha ha pure class but I can’t believe you didn’t go for JarJar. Gungan jedi (or better still Gungan Sith) would rock simply for the Provoke a Lore Nerd innate special ability.

  10. Jawas or Ewoks…I don’t know that I can decide. Can I play some sort of hybrid?

    …actually, who’s to say Jawas arn’t just desert Ewoks? Does anybody even know what they look like under their robes??

  11. As awesome as an Ewok Jedi would be it cannot happen unfortunately. Ewoks don\’t become members of the Republic until after the destruction of the 2nd Death Star so it wouldn\’t be possible to have an Ewok Jedi in the Old Republic. There could still be Force Adept Ewoks, but that would require spacers to abduct force-sensitive Ewoks from Endor and I don\’t think that would really work as a playable race.

    Despite all of my potential misgivings surrounding TOR, I would be utterly sold on this game if I could play a Jedi Jawa riding a Jedi Tauntaun. I mean, you would be able to stealth by simply hiding inside your Tauntaun while it maintains its own ebbing life force. How awesome would that be?

  12. musicians in mos eisely cantina were “Bith”, a peace loving super smart people.
    there have been very few bith jedi.
    try a dug jedi… (sebulba of SWPM is a dug)

  13. rancors are unintelegent speces and are un able to be a jedi

    droids woud make awsome sith to

    go ewoks!!!!

Leave a comment