Posted in Warhammer Online

Mythic Makes Good

So poor Mythic — and poor poor Mythic customers — have not had a good month, to be sure.  But, as Harvey Dent once taught me, the night is darkest just before the dawn (unless you live in a Batcave, then it’s sort of always dark), and it looks as though Mythic is doing a good job pulling out of the tailspin of that billing nightmare.

As I said previously, it’s important for them not only to communicate about the issue, but to compensate for failed service and to restore trust.  In a special letter that’s gone out today, Jeff Hickman attempts to do all three.  He takes full responsibility for the situation, says that all fees will be covered by EA if the banks don’t do it, discusses how they’re working to make sure it’ll never happen again, and gives out a bunch of nice toys for current players (including dyes, pets and mounts).  I’m actually a bit impressed with this response, to be honest.  Here’s hoping that the response to the situation is seen as stronger than the weakness that caused it in the first place.

8 thoughts on “Mythic Makes Good

  1. Glad to see they are communicating about the issue and looking to ensure everyone is taken care of. It does help a bit as I ponder if I want to pick up a time card for WAR. I’ve been playing a bit on the free T1 side. It’s pretty fun as always in T1.

  2. I’m already drooling over the free stuff. Worth the little bit of sweat I shed me thinks.

    Some understandably may not feel that way….but I don’t care I’m getting bottomless dye 🙂

  3. Seeing this letter this morning has made me actually reactivate my WAR account to give it a free 10day shot. If I like it, I may stick around. I love the game; I just wish I knew more people who played it.

    Long also tossed me a 5day trial of STO, so I’m good for a while as I ease into summer gaming and out of WoW burnout.

  4. Good for Mythic! It’s always nice to see a company take it on the chin. I wonder how and why it happened? I’d hate to be the guy responsible for that bug…

  5. Oh cool, bottomless dyes. :O

    Almost makes me want to go back to WAR. Not sure why. Having plenty of fun with Allods while I wait for Mortal Online to release. 😛

  6. It’s awesome to see some great communication and up front honesty. I’m rooting for WAR, I just can’t seem to stay with it for more than 3 months at at a time.

  7. Couldn’t find an email to send this to. You might like this story of an unusual event on Warhammer Online’s badlands server. A huge group of PvPrs stopped killing each other for a few minutes, died their armor pink and all changed their names to ‘PinkforTink’ to support one of their own (Tinkerhell) that’s fighting breast cancer.

    It contradicts the PvP gamer stereotype to see such an outpouring of support for something like Breast cancer. I’ve never seen anything like it. Makes me proud to be a gamer.

    Here are the shots.

    http://picasaweb.google.com/creekmoreworld/PinkForTinkEventOnBadlands?feat=directlink

    I like this one best. I attached it, but I can send others.

    http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/9tdOel-4Twb2tIfmFf4DGw?feat=directlink

    Here is my blog post about it.

    http://creekmoreworld.com/2010/05/pink-for-tink-finding-out-you-have-cancer-again/

    I made a short ‘video’ of the screen

    One of our friends online does a server newsletter. It has a lot about it too.

    Click to access badland-news-vol-iii.pdf

Leave a comment