Posted in General

The biggest MMO week of 2015?

knightsIt’s fall, so lots of MMO happenings are starting to collide, but rest of this month looks to take the cake. Let’s march down the list:

  • WildStar’s first holiday, Shade’s Eve, starts today
  • Early start to SWTOR: Knights of the Fallen Empire starts Tuesday
  • Devilian’s closed beta test kicks off on Thursday
  • Guild Wars 2: Heart of Thorns is coming out on Friday
  • Then the week following we have beta tests for Overwatch and Tree of Savior as well as Funcom’s The Park

And that isn’t even to mention the reprises of scads of Halloween events in most MMOs. It’s an embarrassment of entertainment, where the only complaint is, “What do I play first?”

I spent a few hours this weekend prepping my two SWTOR characters for the expansion. For my Agent, it was mostly about putting her hairstyle back to how it originally was (she went through an unfortunate hairdo phase that I won’t share here… but it was bad). For my Smuggler, it was more involved: leveling up crew skills, running around Yavin to collect credits, and maxing out affection with several of my companions so that I could see the rest of their stories. I’m not done on that last front, since clicking on hundreds of companion gifts and going through dialogue scenes takes time, but at least I got to see Guss wielding a lightsaber. He’s a mean Jedi, you know.

Lots of internal excitement over Shade’s Eve. From the previews it looks really neat and should be a good opportunity to beef up on my haunted house decor. I’m not quite as keen on the two outfits, but hey, I won’t cry if I get them.

It’s just fun to be in the midst of a week packed full of excitement, even if I’m not participating in all of it. I hope my Guild Wars 2 friends are surfing that wave of excitement all of the way into the expansion. As for me, I’ll be in galaxies far, far away.

5 thoughts on “The biggest MMO week of 2015?

  1. I always found the companion gifts portion a break in SWTOR. “Oh, then we jumped out of the airship and…” please insert 4 diamond rings to continue. Should be an interesting adventure with the new expansion though, spider sense tingling. Shintar must be going nuts 🙂

  2. Eh, while I agree necessity of gift giving for companion affection is stilted. I’ve never felt like the conversation “quests” got cut of by it. If anything, doing them in rapid succession (because of all the gift Affection) was jarring because clearly some time is meant to pass between them. Anyway, I’ll be in that same Galaxy. Gotta get through Ziost tonight if we can.

Leave a comment